We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my go-to Indian restaurants”
Review of Chilli India

Chilli India
Ranked #817 of 5,342 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Reviewed June 8, 2018

The Melbourne Central outlet is always busy and is well patronised by the local Indian workers.

I've tried many of the dishes on the menu and they have always tasted great.

Great Biryanis, excellent curries and really tasty breads (roti, naan and kulcha), and they have Haywards 5000.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 15gavinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 60 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2018

I visited on 8th May for Lunch. Ordered veg thaali (meals) along with one paneer gravy and potato gravy. It was served with 2 rotis and raita.

Paneer gravy - Though it name paneer tikka, it was not so spicy. But taste was fine
Potato Gravy - It was also good

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank prosperinit_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

Great if you like South Indian style cooking. However not authentic if you are looking for an overall Indian taste. Staff is friendly and it is a simple affordable place. Service was a bit slow on the day we went.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Devdarshini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018

We dropped in here for a meal at lunch time. While this place is a restaurant at night, during the day is more like a drop in eatery at lunchtime. There is a set menu of about 7 different meals that is designed to get you fed quickly. While it was quiet when I arrived, it gradually got busy over the lunch period to the point where the line for food was out the door. What I really liked was that there was plenty if Indian people and others of course, eating at an Indian Restaurant, always a good indicator of good food.

When you get served you take your meal and sit at the tables set both inside and outside of the restaurant, all tables being for one or two people. For more than two people there are more tables upstairs for any amount of people needed.

We were a party of six, some of us had the biryani, while others had the curries, all very nice. I will be back. Opens at 1130AM. for lunch.

Not actually in King Street, its in Little Lonsdale Street in Menzies Alley.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Radarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

We walked by and the place was full, with plenty locals.
It’s set in a small lane where people walk by. So no discrete dining.

Service is friendly.

The curry dishes were tasty (lamb curry tender) and richly filled.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank AL273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilli India also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chilli India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing