We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”
Review of Vue de Monde

Vue de Monde
Ranked #23 of 4,106 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $118 - $197
Cuisines: French, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

a spectacular view, nice and quiet. Just loved it. Staff were very attentive and we didn't feel like we were being rushed at all. TIP...if you are drinking the champagne it may work out cheaper to buy the bottle rather than by the glass

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reculvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,164
    241
    153
    52
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is simply the best in Melbourne. The panoramic views of Melbourne's skyline with an exotic cocktail is an experience worth every penny you pay. The food is probably one of the best in the world. Ambience is spectacular and experience PRICELESS.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a Night!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Everything was perfect from the time we arrived until the time we left. My first visit to Melbourne and definitely the highlight of my trip. For me to be able to share that experience with my two sons was priceless. Melbourne is definitely on my radar now and the Vu De Monde will be on the top of my "to do list".

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sheryl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Ecclectic, Zen, Unpretentious”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We arrived early and left at midnight after a wonderful evening sampling the full tasting menu with incredible wine pairings. The food was outstanding and inventive and we were surprised to meet and enjoy the tea to food pairing suggestions of the Tea Sommelier, a unique twist to the evening. The views are incredible, the service knowledgeable, spirited, fun and interesting. Thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seanmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“4th Time to Vue. First time a little dissapointed”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

As the title suggests my wife and I have been to Vue 4 times. Obviously we would not return if it was not spectacular. Vue is without doubt one of the best restaurants in the world and it has the price ticket to match. However both my wife and i left the restaurant with far less of a WOW factor than we had in the past and it all came down to the dishes. Yes the onion soup is amazing considering it has been reduced from 400L but by god it is rich. The various dishes were very good but lacked the flavour we would expect from such an experience. The Barramundi was good but again the dish didn't know my socks off. The wine matching was excellent and complemented the dishes well. The staff are outstanding. Perhaps after a few times there my expectations are too high but when a couple spends over $1k on a meal you should know you have eaten the best in the world....and this night we did not.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pad00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vue de Monde also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Vue de Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing