We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Food Best Experience we have ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vue de Monde

Vue de Monde
525 Collins Street | Rialto Building 55th Floor, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)
+61 3 9691 3888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 3,633 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $112 - $187
Cuisines: French, Australian, Gluten Free, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Food Best Experience we have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Absolutely Amazing. From the private lift up to the 55 floor at the Rialto in Melbourne, its 6 star the whole way. The staff are young and delightful (no snobs here!). The views are outstanding over looking the best city in the world. And the food and wine and attention to detail - totally totally outstanding. We went for my birthday and I couldn't swipe the smile off my face. A truely amazing experience that we would highly recommend. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CazKrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    965
    190
    123
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The whole experience was a surprise and a continued stream of delight. As Sydney travellers who dine out alot, we heard about Vue de monde but weren't sure exactly what to expect. From the lift ride to level 55, to being escorted through the cellar (which felt like a VIP backstage entrance), opening up to 'the stage' of the open, spacious, eclectic restaurant, we were intrigued and beguiled. The fact that it was a sunny day for lunch in Melbourne was an added plus. We chose the 5-course degustation with wines to match. The imagination, taste and quality of the food was exceptional (we enjoyed every morsel, every course) and the service was always attentive. The food combinations were incredible. Smoked eel + white chocolate + caviar : it takes tremendous food knowledge to conjure this up and we were totally impressed. I've been blagging about it to everyone I know, especially o.s friends. It made me proud that such a standard and experience was ours in Australia. Thanks Vue de monde. We loved it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolineeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Very Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Vue de Monde used to be our favorite restaurant in Melbourne but not anymore. We feel their food and service is going downhill since they moved to Rialto.

In our latest visit, we had $250 Gastronomes menu at Chef’s table on Saturday night 21-Sep-2013. All dishes were visually outstanding as usual; however our tastebuds were very disappointed on most of the dishes. There were no WOW factor and some dishes did not even work. And the service did not meet the standard of high end restaurants. Things like
-Forgot to give us napkins till we asked;
-Placed the wrong cutlery for a dish before they had to replace;
-Needed to follow up on our drinks several times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had the 10 course degustation for dinner and it was fantastic!....The service was amazing, loved the presentation of the meals, the different flavours and the beautiful view from our table by the window. Really enjoyed the onion soup, the duck yolk and the chocolate souffle was lighter than air! ...so good...can't wait to go back!!!!

We arrived at about 8pm and left the place at midnight...it was truly an amazing dining experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelwithdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Please don't waste your money - not up to par with any fine restaurant!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is the direct email I wrote to the restaurant.

----

I just wanted to write to you before I posted my review online regarding my recent 6 course degustation lunch at vue de monde. For the high reviews it has received and the cost for the meal ($523) I really had high hopes. I've eaten at many great restaurants in the world (many two and three Michelin stars throughout the US and Europe - especially New York, as well as some great places in Australia - Sydney Opera House's restaurant, the Long Pavillion at Qualia and even the degustation menu at Eau De Vie in Melbourne) that were similarly priced and recommended and I have to say I was incredibly disappointed by my meal here today.

To start we were seated at the window, which I had previously requested at night time - the blaring sun was not comfortable and the shade provided zero view. We were immediately asked if we would like a cocktail to which we emphatically asked for a Cosmo and a dirty martini, they took over 15 minutes to arrive and we had to follow up twice. We even had had our amuse bouche and first courses by then and no one had even come over to apologize for the cocktail delay or ask if we wanted to do the wine pairings. This is just unacceptable for a high quality restaurant.

We were asked still or sparkling water, given no option for tap...

The first course of king prawn was not to our liking at all, the taste was gummy and a knife could not cut through it. It had zero flavor and there was no sauce in the head - even though we were instructed to sip from it.

The second course of egg was better although nothing amazing.

The third course we didn't realize was a course given that it was entirely minimalist, one piece of langoustine? Or crawfish? (The server was mumbling and we couldn't understand what he said) alongside a small dollop of aioli. The taste was ok but at this point we had had 3 of our 5 savory courses all of which were literally bite sized. The portion sizes were ridiculously small.

The barramundi course was again not explained well. It tasted ok.

Finally we were told we were to have our final savory course, a tiny bite size piece of beef which was no more special and had no more flavor than what you would find at a Japanese or Korean BBQ place nearby for $4-$5 a piece.

The chocolate soufflé was incredibly eggy.

We ate all of it and the two baskets of bread because we were and we remained hungry. Again the portion sizes were ridiculous given the amount paid for each dish.

The service people were nice and I do not fault them much except for the slow service regarding our cocktails, but relatively good service is no cure for quite lackluster food.

We have eaten at some of the finest restaurants in the world with bills similar to ours today (eg. Per se, Daniel, Le Bernardin all in NY and as previously mentioned even the Long Pavillion at Qualia where we had 8 courses with wine pairings for the same price) and what was presented to us today in comparison to those experiences was quite subpar. We finished our six course meal in just a little over an hour, which was definitely not what we had expected.

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
19 Thank maryanne007newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vue de Monde also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Vue de Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing