We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Definitely worth trying once in your lifetime... HOWEVER...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vue de Monde

Vue de Monde
Ranked #19 of 3,631 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $112 - $187
Cuisines: French, Australian, Gluten Free, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Definitely worth trying once in your lifetime... HOWEVER...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The food was certainly very interesting - and yes we absorbed the flavours and ultimately got full (we went for the 10 course degustation).

However, given the price ($250 per person) plus additional drinks, this would only be for a super special occasion and a once off to embrace the one time experience.

Amazing Melbourne views, and very enlightening food.

But to return and pay for those meals again?

No.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln_and_Pia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    190
    122
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Featherston, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Views to admire & food to savour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a 6 course degustation style dinner that was amazing! One of the best fine dining experiences that I have had.
The view from the 55th floor was amazing . At 9pm we got to watch the fire display from the pillars out the front of the Crowne Casino complex.
The staff made you feel like a VIP and was really relaxing & initimate.
We choose to have a half glass of wine that matched each course, I am not much of a wine drinker but I enjoyed most of the selections.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Truly a great night to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

It was one of the best dining experiences - my boyfriend proposed on their outdoor balcony overviewing the perfect night view of Melbourne. The food was fantastic and it certainly is a romantic choice for special occasions.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amy_caku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good dining place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This restaurant was about what I expected. Whilst I am glad I tried it for the experience, it was not enough to make me want to rush back again.
The food appeared to be traditional, there was beers and wines from Croatia and service was what you would expect from a southern European restaurant (in Southern Europe). .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gonski9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went to Vue de Monde for a Sunday lunch and had their Degustation Menu (a la carte menu not available on Sunday). It was an interesting dining experience.

Service was excellent – plenty of attentive and friendly service staff as well as staff in the open kitchen.

The restaurant is located on the 55th floor of the Rialto building. It was a beautiful sunny day in Melbourne and the view from this restaurant was outstanding! The table setting was a big surprise. There was no crisp white linen on the table as one may expect. Instead, all the table tops were covered/wrapped with kangaroo hides – quite neat really. A collection of rocks of various shapes & sizes were in the centre of the table, the purposes of which became clear as our meal progressed – pleasant surprises & fun! Their beautifully ornate Christofle cutleries resting on sticks which are vines from Penfolds vineyard (we were told).

We had 7 courses (chosen by our designated main waiter) all of which were very well presented and unusually delicious. The only dish that did not go down too well with all 4 of us was the “Pigeon with chestnut & quince”. It was very rare (underdone) and the whole leg of the pigeon was intact, toe nails and all (see photo). The petit-fours has an Australiana theme – mini “lamingtons”, two-up jellies, eucalyptus-flavoured sorbet

The restaurant emailed us a copy of our menu a couple of days later. It might have been more relevant & useful if we were given a copy at the time instead.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vue de Monde also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Vue de Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing