We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good dining place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vue de Monde

Vue de Monde
Ranked #21 of 4,053 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $113 - $188
Cuisines: French, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good dining place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This restaurant was about what I expected. Whilst I am glad I tried it for the experience, it was not enough to make me want to rush back again.
The food appeared to be traditional, there was beers and wines from Croatia and service was what you would expect from a southern European restaurant (in Southern Europe). .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gonski9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,114
    225
    148
    51
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went to Vue de Monde for a Sunday lunch and had their Degustation Menu (a la carte menu not available on Sunday). It was an interesting dining experience.

Service was excellent – plenty of attentive and friendly service staff as well as staff in the open kitchen.

The restaurant is located on the 55th floor of the Rialto building. It was a beautiful sunny day in Melbourne and the view from this restaurant was outstanding! The table setting was a big surprise. There was no crisp white linen on the table as one may expect. Instead, all the table tops were covered/wrapped with kangaroo hides – quite neat really. A collection of rocks of various shapes & sizes were in the centre of the table, the purposes of which became clear as our meal progressed – pleasant surprises & fun! Their beautifully ornate Christofle cutleries resting on sticks which are vines from Penfolds vineyard (we were told).

We had 7 courses (chosen by our designated main waiter) all of which were very well presented and unusually delicious. The only dish that did not go down too well with all 4 of us was the “Pigeon with chestnut & quince”. It was very rare (underdone) and the whole leg of the pigeon was intact, toe nails and all (see photo). The petit-fours has an Australiana theme – mini “lamingtons”, two-up jellies, eucalyptus-flavoured sorbet

The restaurant emailed us a copy of our menu a couple of days later. It might have been more relevant & useful if we were given a copy at the time instead.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A dining pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

It is interesting to note other reviews of this restaurant, overwhelmingly they are favorable which was our experience. We had a tasting menu and we were completely happy. Yes it is expensive but then its a case of the old cliché "you get what you pay for" We found the staff helpful, informative and not the least bit intrusive in their detailed exposition of each dish. We loved each and every dish - the truffle marshmallow, smoked eel, Marron, Barramundi and a number of interesting and tasty dishes. The views are stunning, but we were more focused on the food. There certainly is an element of theatre in the presentation of dishes but we thought it enhanced our dining experience. We thought that the alcohol prices were not excessive and compared with other restaurants of this quality. We are about to do a gourmet tour of Michelin starred restaurants in San Sebastian so we will be looking to benchmark Vue de Monde with them, because we are looking forward to returning here on our next visit to Melbourne. We thought that this restaurant has been one of our most enjoyable dining experiences in Australia.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wangary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great experience for 50th Birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had the best time, had an early dinner session, degustation menu was beautiful, great to try some food that you would not normally get a chance to try such as salt cured wallaby and emu jerky. Loved that they put us near a window when they found out it was for a 50th birthday. Serving staff were extremely attentive and explained each course which was appreciated. Well done Vue staff you made his celebration one to remember.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was amazing, service on the otherhand; confusing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Apart from the massive attitude on our main waitress and the thickest French accents around on most others, we had fun and the food was excellent.

If we could erase the sourness of the attitude with regards to being quick enough to order, it would have been sublime.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chrrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vue de Monde also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Vue de Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing