We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An experience not to forget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vue de Monde

Vue de Monde
Ranked #21 of 3,661 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $114 - $191
Cuisines: French, Australian, Gluten Free Options, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Auckland
Level Contributor
444 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“An experience not to forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was my second visit (took my wife for our anniversary) and the standard was once again quite amazing. We had 8 courses, and left very full. With so many courses some are better than others, but that is part of the experience, but as always it is great to try such a variety of foods. My wife is not quite as adventurous an eater as me, and was a little worried after the first round of wallaby, emu, eel, etc. but after that the food was more main-stream (lamb, pork belly, barrumundi, etc). She is also gluten free, and the restaurant handled that extremely well. The overall experience of location, view, service, taste and presentation is faultless. My only quibble would be that it would nice to see a menu and a price list before ordering. Basically you discuss how many courses you want, but you don't have any idea about what you will be eating, and what is will cost, until the end. Of course if you go to this type of restaurant you shouldn't be worrying about the price, but is always nice to have an idea in the back of your mind.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    989
    195
    125
    44
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blown away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Right from the moment we walked through the door we were blown away! Can not fault this place, the view was amazing. Probably the best fine dining restaurant I've been to.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Becbeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
185 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“An Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went on a Saturday night and the only option is for the 5 or 10 course degustation menu. We went for the 5 course as we didn't think we would see the distance with 10 courses. We also opted to choose our own wine as my wife only drinks red wine. On arrival we were met and were confused with some other people attending a large party in another part of the restaurant. Once that was sorted out we were ushered down a long corridor lined with wine. Once in the restaurant we were then shown our table. Unfortunately it was not by the window to take advantage of the fabulous view of Melbourne by night, even though we booked some 3 months in advance. We were then offered water options. I don't think common old garden Melbourne tap water was an option so we ended up with an Italian still ($10 per bottle).
The table we had looked like it would hold about 6 people although it was just the two of us. There is an assortment of rocks and what looks like driftwood but is in fact lumps of grape vine.
These are for holding your cutlery.
As expected the serves are tiny but the flavours are sublime. Even though we had only 5 courses it was enough and the service was impecable. My glass was never empty and we were never wondering when the next couses was coming. It all seemed to flow like a well oiled machine.
It's not cheap, but hey, you don't do it every day and it's an experience that should be had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WineloverMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An outstanding experience from start to finish...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I had the recent pleasure of dining at Vue de Monde. We had the 10 course degustation with matched wines. We found most of the courses spectacular (the pigeon was the only course we found slightly out of whack - in our opinion the pigeon was slightly undercooked and a little tough), other than this we were seriously awe inspired by the whole experience. The staff were amazing and Jackson (the head sommelier) had such a wealth of knowledge. We had some seriously sensational wines and thought the food and wine balances were spot on. From our arrival to our departure we were looked after so well. The service was attentive (without being intrusive) and not at all pretentious. Love the little take home pack for 'the morning after' - a very thoughtful touch. The space itself is fantastic - such great views and so beautifully styled. A fabulous experience that I do hope to repeat one day......

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aussienard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just amazing flavours, quality, stories and service. One of the must do experiences in Melbourne if you are a foodie. Not cheap but good value in my book if you are still talking about it days after.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamcam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vue de Monde also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Vue de Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing