We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Longrain

Longrain
Ranked #11 of 4,059 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is one of the best Asian restaurants that I have been to. It has a great high energy atmosphere. Had drinks at the large open bar while we waited a short while to be seated. Great place to people watch! We did not have reservations on a busy night and were accommodated quickly. There is communal seating which is a fun way to see what other people were eating and to help us make our dinner selections.

We had the caramelised pork, prawn, peanuts, sour pineapple, the crab and betel leaf, the whole snapper and a braised shortrib special. All the flavors were amazing! A great combination of sweet, salty, sour, spicy.

Service was friendly and efficient. Wish I would go back there right now!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scarletlettera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    230
    64
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The least favourite dish was outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

How good is a meal when the least favourite dish was outstanding????

This was our 2nd visit to Longrain Melbourne and we've visited the Sydney venue twice also and, consistent with our expectations, this was magnificent food - and great service too!!!

To start, we had the birds nest salad with pork, prawns, etc for a shared stater and, OMG, the flavours were just magnificent. You could taste every ingredient with sweetness, sour, spice, crunch - all just lovely.

Then we had a pumpkin and sweet corn green curry, a spicy chicken sambal and a lamb neck yellow curry. Everyone agreed the chicken was very good but it was the least favourite - so how good is it that the least favourite dish is still rated so highly.

The lamb neck yellow curry with potatoes was so moist and tender and full of flavour that most of us agreed it was the tastiest curry we've ever eaten!!!!!!

Longrain is a great formula - tasty, fresh food; great atmosphere; and prompt and friendly service. Can't wait till we're next in Melbourne or Sydney.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wheretonext63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouyen, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice Cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Great service, great menu (beef cheeks, chilli mussels, prawn & salad in egg basket, lamb neck curry .... Yummy! Deserts to die for). Lychee cocktails & Red Dragon cocktail fun. Staff efficient, friendly and fast food service. Ambiance and central location to theatre end of Melbourne. Just wish we could have turned down the DJ!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CTorpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Been here twice. sat solo by the bar. loved the food, really good entrees to select from , friendly staff, quick service . Highly recommended. dont miss this out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Shared dishes , very nice food, staff very informative and competent and we took their advise with the odd dish and glad we did.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longrain also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Longrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing