We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect every time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longrain

Longrain
Ranked #11 of 3,631 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect every time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been to long rain several times and it has never disappointed us. The pork belly and soft shell crab are to die for. We made a rule years ago to never go to the same restaurant twice because there are so many great places to eat in melbourne. Longrain forces us to break that rule. It's just so good. :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacobi0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    182
    54
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing Food & Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked a table for 8 for the early sitting at 6pm and had plenty of time to eat, drink and mingle before we had to leave, we were not rushed out of there.

The drinks were amazing, had a Coconut Chilli Martini... talk about explosion of flavour, just like all of the food we ordered.

We didn't get the banquet, instead opted to get 1 of almost everything on the menu (and 2 of the pork belly dish). All the food came out at a good pace and not all at once. It was great as we got to taste a little of everything on the menu. Every dish had a fusion of flavours that went so well together. We expecting to spend over $100 per person that night but it was well worth it when you add all the cocktails, beers, coffees desserts on top, so it was quite reasonable that we only paid $110 per person.

Staff were very attentive & friendly. I would highly recommend having dinner at Longrain, can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank la_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“My all time favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Whenever we are in Melbourne, I somehow always find a reason to dine at Longrain. This is my all time favourite restaurant, period. The food is consistently lightyears beyond expectations. I recommend this to everyone!

We have dined with groups and as a couple - and while I agree with other reviewers that the communal tables are less than ideal, I'm happy to put up with it. And of course it would be great if you could make reservations, but alas that it not to be (so we just have to 'endure' a fantastic cocktail why we wait for a table).

On the one occasion when I hated their interpretation of a cocktail, the waitstaff whisked it away with no hassles. I also have a few allergies and the staff are always happy to assist.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xanthe_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Long On Promise, Short On Delivery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I'm afraid that Longrain flatters to deceive. We saw it in daylight when it looked great, and decided to return for dinner. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. The design fell apart under inspection. The lighting is very poor and the big communal tables just don't work - they're too wide to sit opposite your companions, and sitting side by side is just wrong. Hearing the the distant strains of "Happy Birthday" wearily fizzle out from distant circular tables at regular intervals was plain dispiriting, and the food and wine just didn't really live up to expectation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious asian fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Beautiful restaurant, open plan so great for people watching. Gorgeous cocktails, food was an amazing taste explosion. One of the best restaurants i've eaten in!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longrain also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Longrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing