We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly crafted Asian cuisine served perfectly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longrain

Longrain
Ranked #6 of 3,690 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Adelaide, Sth Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Highly crafted Asian cuisine served perfectly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The space that this restaurant sits in is an amazing open warehouse. It is very warm inviting and very professional in its approach. We were a party of 2 so we couldn't book (tables under 6 persons cannot) but turning up we got lucky and were sat at the bar where we enjoyed our dinner whilst watching the staff weave magic. The menu is very extensive with flavours of Thai and Vietnam but also with blends of various other Sth East Asian cuisines.
The waitress allowed us to have some dishes as 1/2 portions so we could taste more dishes. Brilliant, finally a restaurant that is flexible with the diners requests. The food is sublime, some of the best blending of tastes and textures I have had for a long time. The staff are excellent, professional and very accommodating. The even have a DJ playing groovy tunes while you eat.
The cocktails are innovative and tasty. This is a definite must return restaurant ?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beechee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    206
    56
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yes, definitely overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had high expectations of Longrain due to its reviews by other users, but I was very disappointed. The dishes were a little too sweet in my opinion, and the meat was too tough. We were a party of four, and we couldn't continue eating after a few bites of each dish. Very very disappointing. On a positive note though, the staff were extremely friendly, great service and great atmosphere, the cocktails were delicious too!! If only this was a bar then I would've given it 5 stars. But because this is predominately a restaurant, then it did not live up to my expectations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovelyshellz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I expected a lot and was left feeling totally ordinary. The food is ok and with a larger group you can book (otherwise, I certainly would not have been cuing). Wine glasses without stems don't do it for me and would only seem to benefit the restaurant. They add even more to the feeling of eating in a shopping mall. I don't choose to dine out to sit with strangers on park benches!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ItchFeet58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I like the way Longrain has shared tables so that you meet different people each time you go there. The food and service is great but not cheap.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Asian influence at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The food and service was incredible. Was a little worried about the fact that we were sat at a communal bar but this added to the experience. Not sure about the stemless wine glasses but a new trend must be tried.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaaren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longrain also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Longrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing