We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Fusion Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Longrain

Longrain
Ranked #11 of 4,058 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Fusion Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The food in this place in absolutely exciting. Fusion of Thai and Asian cooking. The flavours blend perfectly. I had one of the best meal in Melbourne here!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HealthyThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    230
    64
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Community Tables, Great Food For All”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Longrain makes top notch Thai cuisine with a fun flair. As most people mention in reviews, and what perhaps stands out most about the place is that all the seeting is communal. Long tables to be shared with complete strangers. One thing that everyone at the table will have in common however is that they are digging in to some fantastic Thai eats.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DBDG1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

just love this restaurant, u have to share the table, no problems plenty of room. the thai crusine is so fresh and delicious, unique!!!!! I love thai food but this restaurant really do add a twist to your normal everyday thai food. amazing cocktails just love the chilli margueritas!!!!!! this restaurant is for special occasions, a little pricey but worth it!!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guyglenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Share your food, share your table”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Having eaten at Longrain in Sydney we wondered if Melbourne could match ? Arriving at 8 we were told the wait would be about 45 mins to an hour. The atmosphere looked really good and we felt like Thai tonight so we put our names down and retreated across the road to Punch Lane for a quiet drink and catch up on the day. A drink or two later and we were back at Longrain, ready to taste the spicy flavours of Thailand. We were seated a a rather large table with a mother and daughter opposite ( per Mother's Day night out) but they were almost down and we were about to start. Beetle leaves and the caramelised pork, prawns done in a meat- ball style with sour pineapple got the show on the road - delightful, stimulating your taste-buds ready for the main performance. Crispy duck with ginger and star anise with a beautiful sauce followed by slow cooked curried lamb and kipfler potatoes. This was the real deal and all along the wait staff were attentive, ensuring the wine glasses were topped up and bottles water pored.. I asked about the source of the beetle leaves and within two minutes our waitress was back explaining that they could only get it through their wholesale outlets and that it was hard to secure through the normal retail markets. All up a very pleasant evening, certainly doing Thai cuisine proud, with equally pleasant staff. The question remains - Sydney or Melbourne ? Hometown or weekend away? On this occasion Sydney, but only by a grain ......... But Melbourne absolutely still worth a go

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing - highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The food is amazing and not your usual western Thai food. Highly recommend the cocktail list. Atmosphere is great and service is 1st class. Will definitely be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longrain also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Longrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing