We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Longrain

Longrain
Ranked #11 of 4,059 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Superb food, service and dining experience. The salt and pepper tofu was a highlight. Food was outs being. Very swish decor. Loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MegGibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    230
    64
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty Thai for a White Guy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Longrain is a Melbourne staple within my dining realm and Thai food is my most favourite cuisine of all; I've been here at least 10 times!

Go here any night except a Fri or Sat or you'll have to wait for a table. If you have to, then get there around either 6ish or 9ish.
If it's just two of you, then eating at the bar is “Rad’ and is where the action is. You'll get served quicker and won't have to yell at each other across the large tables.
The Betel leaves are a lovely start and I can never go past an Oyster with the Nam Jim sauce. Pork Hock is the bomb (sweet, sticky, gooey) and Silken Tofu is a winner. The Pad Thai, and all of the Curries are fab too. I’m not a fan of the egg net or the deep fried whole fish, but all of the other salads are pretty good.
I love their take on the Creme Caramel and also the Banana Fritters which I would never normally eat.
Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladypawpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Iconic restaurant in Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

One of my favourite restaurants in Melbourne. Great food,atmosphere and service has always been top notch.

Prices are mid range and servings are substantial.

The eggnet salad and curry is delicious and you can't say no to the desert sample plate!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mocha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
582 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

It took over an hour of waiting at the bar with cocktails and snacks before we got a table (no bookings taken for parties under 6) but it was kind of fun watching people eat. The frustrating thing was seeing 3 completely empty tables with capacity for about 20 diners for almost an hour (as they had been reserved for groups at 9:15 but were vacated at just after 8). It was tempting to ask to be seated there on the promise of vacating quickly but this wasn't offered by the maitre'd.

As always though the food was divine and this is why I keep coming back with interstate visitors. We had the crispy tofu, betel nut leaves and the egg net. The cocktails were delicious and dangerously good too. I suspect I'll be back again but really must remember to either rally more people together to get a reservation or arrive early!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seabird21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Worth going back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

It is busy. No question, so yes at times you may wait a little, and it can get noisy.
But it is busy for a reason. It is good.
The food is tasty, consistently, with clean flavours that really speak to the quality of ingredients. Service is proficient, yet quick, and their food knowledge is certainly useful when dealing with unfamilaiar names and infredients.

It is more exspensive than other china town places. But the food is better, the service is better, and the atmosphere is better.
You get what you pay for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodDivaMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longrain also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Longrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing