We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, nice atmosphere, lovely food”
Review of Comme Kitchen - CLOSED

Comme Kitchen
Price range: $36 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great service, nice atmosphere, lovely food”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Fine dining without the unnecessary arrogance that some similar establishments present. The portion aren't huge but we certainly all felt very full at the end of our meals. It is a little noisy but not so much that we couldn't easily hold a conversation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larabe6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Noisy but worth it”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

One of the best meals I've ever had - highly recommend it. But you'll need a megaphone to have yourself heard over the noise at the adjacent bar. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruizerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It's ok. Nothing great but still good solid quality”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Havent been for a while. And they have switched the bar with he restaurant... Prefer the other way. Had pork shoulder wih lentils and my friend had beef bourguignon and mash. Nice but portions were a bit small and was on the expensive side. Service is good as is the wine list. I always find the cost of side dishes ridiculous and it's the same here. I ordered a side salad and it was $10 for what would have cost at retail $1 so I dread to think what they buy it for wholesale.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alimcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Didn't quite meet expectations.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We chose Comme from the Entertainment Book and were looking forward to some 'good food guide' dining. The restaurant car was crowded with casual drinkers which in one way created atmosphere but in another simply made it noisy.
The food was well cooked, well presented and service was attentive. The food didnt have the expected WOW factor. Portion sizes were adequate but not generous. The choice of sides was limited with only one vegetable option.
In a city where you are spoilt for choice with dining options, we would probably not hurry back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful classy environment”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I was here recently for a work function. The building is beautiful inside, with a large function room and atmosphere. It was very clean, the staff were very helpful, and the food was very nice. I can’t comment on the prices but the small bites we had were lovely, fresh springs rolls, arancini balls and small bowls of pesto pasta with parmesan.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comme Kitchen also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing