We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another level of Chinese eating in Melbourne”

Dainty Sichuan Noodles
Ranked #1,944 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Another level of Chinese eating in Melbourne”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Have been wanting to try this restaurant for some time as Szechuan style is mt favorite Chinese preparation. I was not disappointed to say the least! This was my frst visit and will not be my last as I am planning to visit the South Yarra location very soon. I had the Kung Pao chicken and the Beef Capsicum, both with steamed rice to break them down. The chicken was classic, spicy, nutty, earthy and slightly sweet. The balance was amazing and the spice, while very powerful, was not overly hot or just pure heat. I was experiencing 45 minutes of pure bliss while enjoying the chicken and because the portions were so generous, could not finish the entree completely. The beef was sweet, spicy and balanced nicely with dried pepper pods and the freshness of the bok choy. This dining experience was almost euphoric at times and even the conversation took a backseat to the flavors.
Service was just right, nothing overbearing and certainly not anything to complain about. I think I have a new favorite restaurant in Melbourne.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTrotster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
480 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Hot 'n Plenty”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is the place if you like spicy food and plenty of it. The blend of various flavors was especially noteworthy. I had an appetizer and the octopus as the main and I could not finish the meal. The place is huge with numerous rooms and crowded both times we visited. Be prepared for a wait. It is also pricier than most Chinese restaurants but well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
802 reviews
485 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

First trip to Dainty Sichuan at their new Bourke Street address, but certainly not the last. The decor is decidely up-market here with a modern (sparkling) presentation and feel. It's a big space with a number of different eating areas - all somewhat unique.
I have no idea where the 'dainty' in the name comes from, because there's nothing dainty about the place or the meals (something was apparently lost in the translation).
The emphasis here is 'spicy' - as sichuan cooking should be - but there are plenty of 'mild' choices on the menu for the less adventurous.
We had a fabulous cauliflower and bean stir-fry which was truly flavoursome (and not too peppery at all) - and a dish of pork morsels swimming in a bowl of rich and sticky sauce. These two entirely different flavours (spicy and sweet) worked well together, in fact they complemented each other perfectly.
Our meal, together with rice and tea, cost about $65 which we thought very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you want intense and cleverly layered flavours, and like Sichuan food, dainty is a must do. Sporting all the traditional sichuan favourites, we instantly fell in love with their cold noodle dish and their steamed soy beans were utterly delicious. Chongging spicy chicken was also intensely good. Great decor, excellent if not slightly costly food make dainty a must do if you are ever in Melbourne

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“real Chinese food”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

the food taste like food you would in a Chinese restaurant but some of the servings are huge and most of the food on the menu is spicy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dainty Sichuan Noodles also viewed

 
Yarra, Greater Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Dainty Sichuan Noodles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing