We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coda

Coda
Ranked #14 of 4,059 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $300
Cuisines: Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Upon opening our doors in 2009, we were thrilled to receive the The Age Good Food Guide's 'HatAward' and have maintained it ever since. Complementing these achievements, we are very proud of Head Sommelier, Travis Howe, who not only won Sommelier of the Year but also picked up the 2013 Wine List of the Year. Nestled in one of Melbourne's iconic laneways (basement Oliver Lane, and Flinders Lane), Coda is located in the busiest and most dynamic culinary precinct the city has to offer. A stone's throw away from the Yarra River, Flinders Street station and Federation Square, the restaurant enjoys hosting a diverse group of diners from frequenting locals who live and work on its doorstep to diners from all over the globe. Upon entering the restaurant you will be greeted by a member of our friendly team headed by Mykal and Kate Bartholomew and Executive Chef Adam D'Sylva. The trio has assembled a dedicated team with highly sought-after experience from many international and Melbourne-based restaurants. Coda's relaxed environment provides a versatile setting for a range of engagements. Whatever your occasion - from a quick pre-football meal, to a long Sunday lunch, business dining or a cosy seat for an anniversary - we look forward to your visit. While bookings are highly recommended, patrons without a reservation can enjoy the full menu at the bar.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Coda was simply a delight. The food was sensational and the staff were brilliant who knew there stuff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    228
    44
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We have been here a few times and are always impressed. Professional, friendly, knowledge staff, great interesting delicious food, you can't go wrong.
The food is well presented and perfect for sharing , we had a great lunch and will return again and again.
Highly recommend the restaurant you won't be sorry

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
454 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Wonderful, imaginative food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This gem is slightly off Flinders Lane and in a basement. It is smallish and only seats 70. We arrived at 6:30PM on a rainy Tuesday and it was packed. We ended up sitting at the bar with a ringside seat on the kitchen; highly entertaining.

The menu is mostly small plates to share. I would recommend you take this approach. We had several but everyone wet their pants over the Aperol infused salmon with crème fraiche .

All the dishes were wonderful; fresh, original and well presented. The wine list is small but everything works with the menu. We found the staff really helpful, enthusiastic and efficient.

A great find as recommended by TripAdvisor and the hotel concierge. I'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Flinders Lane Special Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Chose this place for a birthday dinner for my eldest teenage son. The entire family of four enjoyed this night. Loved the share plate meals and concept. The basement location and decor set the scene for a wonderful dinner with character and memorable moments. We left the food and wine selection the the service staff and they did not disappoint. Coming back for more one day soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnP99n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Highly recommended but fell short”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Sadly I am allergic to chilli so only two items on the menu for me to eat. My mistake probably in going there but have not found restaurants anywhere that can't prepare most menu items leaving out chilli. My dishes were tasty but not remarkable. Nice vibe generally.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth_C574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coda also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Coda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing