We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great service and fabulous food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coda

Coda
Ranked #11 of 3,682 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $42
Cuisines: Asian, Australian, Gluten Free Options, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great service and fabulous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great service and fabulous food. We were guided by the sommelier to a perfect Australian wine. We ordered some tapas to share, mozzarella, pea and arugula salad, and the duck. All was perfectly prepared. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thymefortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    208
    37
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Delicious French/Vietnamese tapa's and share plates. We hadn't booked a table but were seated at the bar where you get a view of the chef's putting the food together and the bar staff were very helpful in matching our wine with our tapa's selections. The calamari salad and pork belly dishes were stand outs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kittytraveks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Visited this restaurant by chance as we were staying nearby. It's great. Staff friendly and helpful.
Wine list not huge but has both international and local wines . The food is delicious. We ordered the special seared tuna with sorbet..amazing and the salmon..yum.. The kitchen is an open behind the bar. The seating is either at tables or sitting around high tables or eating at the bar..it all works well. We will be returning. Well done ..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Food in Melbourne CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Lovely basement restaurant. Fabulous menu, great wine list
Really good not fault it.
Would definitely recommend this restaurant

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

While visiting Melbourne recently we stumbled across this restaurant on a Saturday night after being turned away from many other restaurants. We did not have a booking but the hostess was very helpful and said we were welcome to wait and she would seat us as soon as possible. WIthin 15 minutes we were seated at the bar where we could watch the chef's preparing the meals in the kitchen behind. We had a selection of dishes that were all amazing but the Duck would have to be my favourite! The restaurant had a great ambience but it was the happy and friendly staff that really made an impact on us, they all looked like they really enjoyed working there. Can't wait to go back there on our next visit to Melbourne!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OzziesQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coda also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Coda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing