We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit as good as the first”
Review of Coda

Coda
Reserve with
Coda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 4,029 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $61 - $227
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Upon opening our doors in 2009, we were thrilled to receive the The Age Good Food Guide's 'HatAward' and have maintained it ever since. Complementing these achievements, we are very proud of Head Sommelier, Travis Howe, who not only won Sommelier of the Year but also picked up the 2013 Wine List of the Year. Nestled in one of Melbourne's iconic laneways (basement Oliver Lane, and Flinders Lane), Coda is located in the busiest and most dynamic culinary precinct the city has to offer. A stone's throw away from the Yarra River, Flinders Street station and Federation Square, the restaurant enjoys hosting a diverse group of diners from frequenting locals who live and work on its doorstep to diners from all over the globe. Upon entering the restaurant you will be greeted by a member of our friendly team headed by Mykal and Kate Bartholomew and Executive Chef Adam D'Sylva. The trio has assembled a dedicated team with highly sought-after experience from many international and Melbourne-based restaurants. Coda's relaxed environment provides a versatile setting for a range of engagements. Whatever your occasion - from a quick pre-football meal, to a long Sunday lunch, business dining or a cosy seat for an anniversary - we look forward to your visit. While bookings are highly recommended, patrons without a reservation can enjoy the full menu at the bar.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Second visit as good as the first”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Melbourne is on of our favorite places to visit and Coda is now our must visit restaurant. The atmosphere is great, the food interesting and full of flavour and care. The other standout thing is the service. Everybody that served us were professional and casual in a good way and exceptionally knowledgable about food and wine. We would recommend this wonderful restaurant to all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gundagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    232
    45
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner for 4”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Met up with friends for dinner. Great venue but very noisy. The food was exceptional. We had just returned from Vietnam and their fabulous food, the food here is small and is made for sharing with Vietnamese flavours. The wine is a it pricey but we did have few bottles. Would definitely go back and would recommend to friends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rey1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have had some average Melbourne restaurant experiences and had left Coda for our last night, it certainly was worth the wait. Extremely tasty food, little bit pricey but service and atmosphere made it a memorable experience. We had the prawn rolls and lamb cutlets for entree, jasmine rice, buk choy and duck curry for main and the icecream sandwich (to die for!) for dessert. The duck is a standout dish. Can't speak highly enough of the staff, extremely helpful and attentive. Glasses were never left empty :) Found this gem from the Good Food Guide as it was rated quite highly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Sunday night”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

First time at Coda. No booking, just sat at the bar or should I say the bar height tables in the Bar area. There were four of us. Great atmosphere, great food and excellent wine list. I think you are best go there in a group of four. It does not strike me as the place for a quiet romantic meal. You need to be celebrating or just out for a good fun night. The food is best ordered to share. I don't think there is was dish on the menu that did not read well. Every thing we ordered was tasty, spicy and different. Staff were very helpful and obliging.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Big let down”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

First imnpressions were good, snazzy bar , mood lighting pleasant reception and wait staff . Menu also read well qaas did wine list . But it was downhill most of the way thereafter . In ways I can blame myself for the wine I chose-- it was a rose from Provence , but far too sweet for my taste. Perhaps that is more acceptable in an Asian restaurant , but no thanks . For starters we had 1] spanner crab on a betel leaf - acceptable but quite forgetable 2] quail lettuce delight - translated as a variant of sang choy bow - it totally lacked flavour and tasted quite unseasoned
3]crispy rice paper roll - a nothing 4] soft rice paper roll-- well for much less in any Vietnamese restaurant in Victoria St you would get several of these and just as tasty , so , a rip off . My wife had the octopus salad for mains and said it was delicious . I had a half serve of the thai yellow curry duck . Yes, it was a generous serve as too was the rice but the actual curry tasted much more Indian than Thai , and in my opinion was not at all suitable as a sort of curry to feature duck .
So all in all a major disappointment somewhat spoiling my wife's birthday treat . I reckon that another restaurant serving Vietnamese food just up the road kills this one stone dead . Mind you many suburban restaurants also are much better, and much better value .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JvB0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coda also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Coda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing