We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coda

Coda
141 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)
613 96503155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 3,371 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $42 - $42
Cuisines: Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have had some average Melbourne restaurant experiences and had left Coda for our last night, it certainly was worth the wait. Extremely tasty food, little bit pricey but service and atmosphere made it a memorable experience. We had the prawn rolls and lamb cutlets for entree, jasmine rice, buk choy and duck curry for main and the icecream sandwich (to die for!) for dessert. The duck is a standout dish. Can't speak highly enough of the staff, extremely helpful and attentive. Glasses were never left empty :) Found this gem from the Good Food Guide as it was rated quite highly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank missie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Sunday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

First time at Coda. No booking, just sat at the bar or should I say the bar height tables in the Bar area. There were four of us. Great atmosphere, great food and excellent wine list. I think you are best go there in a group of four. It does not strike me as the place for a quiet romantic meal. You need to be celebrating or just out for a good fun night. The food is best ordered to share. I don't think there is was dish on the menu that did not read well. Every thing we ordered was tasty, spicy and different. Staff were very helpful and obliging.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Big let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

First imnpressions were good, snazzy bar , mood lighting pleasant reception and wait staff . Menu also read well qaas did wine list . But it was downhill most of the way thereafter . In ways I can blame myself for the wine I chose-- it was a rose from Provence , but far too sweet for my taste. Perhaps that is more acceptable in an Asian restaurant , but no thanks . For starters we had 1] spanner crab on a betel leaf - acceptable but quite forgetable 2] quail lettuce delight - translated as a variant of sang choy bow - it totally lacked flavour and tasted quite unseasoned
3]crispy rice paper roll - a nothing 4] soft rice paper roll-- well for much less in any Vietnamese restaurant in Victoria St you would get several of these and just as tasty , so , a rip off . My wife had the octopus salad for mains and said it was delicious . I had a half serve of the thai yellow curry duck . Yes, it was a generous serve as too was the rice but the actual curry tasted much more Indian than Thai , and in my opinion was not at all suitable as a sort of curry to feature duck .
So all in all a major disappointment somewhat spoiling my wife's birthday treat . I reckon that another restaurant serving Vietnamese food just up the road kills this one stone dead . Mind you many suburban restaurants also are much better, and much better value .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JvB0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennyroyal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Greatt experience - great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Brilliant place, been a few times now and can't wait to go back. If as a couple sit at the bar, watch the staff work in the kitchen and enjoy the banter with the bar staff. Food in small but many and varied packages. Joyful experience, absolutely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A long wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having tried to eat here a number of times, the expectation was high. It delivered. We booked { a treat in itself in Melbourne } and were a little early. Settled in a quiet corner with a drink immediately, we had only a short wait. We chose all small plates and shared them amongst four. Waiter excellent with recommendations and advice. Probably ordered a bit much but it was all delicious. The wine list needs care, a few bargains but pretty pricey. Good French fizz to start on recommendation.
Would return in a minute.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank petmar035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coda also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Coda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing