We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food, atmosphere and service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoya

Shoya
Ranked #395 of 4,054 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $75 - $75
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
1 review
“Fantastic food, atmosphere and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing, staff were extremely knowledgable of each dish and of the ingredients used. Chefs were very hospitable and the Head Chef was a very warm and humble gentleman. Definately one of the best restaurants we have been to, for anyone who appreciates traditional Japanese cuisine.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chef_koda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    46
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing but quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Shoya is our favourite restaurant ... we have been many times and never get tired of the quality and flavours the Chefs are able to produce with their food. The degaustation menu changed just recently and the new items added were a delight. Fantastic food, good staff .. very highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andyeve2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food, great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I've eaten at Shoya a couple of times and every time it's amazing, The food is incredible, its true to traditional Japanese cuisine as its delicate and delicious, every dish is a delight.

The setting is amazing too, I personally enjoy the 2nd level where all of the seating is traditional Japanese tables and chairs, you sit on the floor and drop your feet into a cut out under the table. It really makes it feel like a traditional experience and adds volumes to the feel of the place.

The atmosphere is fantastic, the staff are lovely and friendly and move around without notice, there is an energy about the place without it being overwhelming.

Overall my experiences with Shoya have all been fantastic, I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a nice Japanese dining experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crawf84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
410 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good, but not exceptional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had dinner on my own in Shoya on a business trip to Melbourne. This is a top class Japanese restaurant and it doesn't pretend to be anything else.

The restaurant was packed notwithstanding it rather hidden away location showing it is very well known.

I ended ordering a broad range of dishes all of which were beautifully presented and served although none of them blew me away. The Hokkaido scallops were the smallest Hokkaido scallops I have ever seen. In fact, I didn't think they came in sizes that small. Chawanmushi was good, sashimi was excellent and the crab soba was average.

Service is absolutely first class.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic excellent Japanese food with friendly and unobtrusive staff ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a great dinner experience in this restaurant. The food is of a high quality and is served by the very friendly staff with nice authentic touches that add to the dining experience such as freshly grated wasabi at your table and instructions on how you should eat the food.
The sashimi spoils your taste buds, the tempura is to die for and both the kana ravioli and nigiri sushi are a flavour journey.

We added this restaurant to our top 5 in Melbourne!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GertDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoya also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Shoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing