We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need on your doorstep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Ranked #63 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've stayed here a few times because it is clean, comfortable & modern accommodation with excellent restaurants & pubs right out front. The rooms have everything you need; spacious & well appointed. Staff are friendly. The CBD is a 10 minute walk away - I would definitely recommend this place for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Higher floor will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 458 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend as a group of 5.

It is very conveniently located to all of the restaurants of Lygon street and an easy walk to the city and shopping districts of Melbourne, and Fitzroy is less than a $10 cab ride as well.

The room was comfortable and completely adequate for our requirements, although the bedrooms got really hot when the doors were shut as the air conditioning was only in the living room so best to sleep with the doors open.

The service from staff was very friendly and you can also visit Melbourne Baths (pool & gym) for $15 which is good value for the gym junkies.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Gourjess,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Quest Carlton on Finlay.
It is fantastic to hear that our friendly and professional staff were a highlight of your stay. I am also delighted to advise also that we are now in the planning stages of a refurbishment for this property so you can expect in the near future to see some exciting new changes at Quest Carlton on Finlay.
We would love for you to come and stay with us again and if there is anything that we can assist with in future, please do not hesitate to let us know.
We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you visit Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at the Quest Carlton for a week over Christmas. The location is probably the best aspect of this hotel, conveniently located along Lygon Street and a couple of minutes walk to the CBD. It should be noted that Finlay Place isn't really a street or a road, it's more of a lane way that runs off Lygon Street that is used to service the surrounding restaurants and the hotel itself. The service at check in and every other occasion was very friendly and helpful, definitely one of the highlights of the stay. Also a highlight was the free wireless internet; a feature that most hotels still don't have. Whilst the rooms themselves were comfortable I found them to be quite drab and in need of refurbishment and repair.. (the horrid cactus paintings that are in every room are not pleasing to the eye, for instance). Having stayed at other Quest hotels around Australia I did find this aspect a little disappointing. We were also unfortunate to have a leaking bathroom roof, which after a couple of days began to get worse so we were promptly offered another room, we experienced great service again here. All in all, I enjoyed my comfortable stay at this hotel however as there are so many other alternative 4-star hotels that are within Melbourne CBD (Medinas, Mantras and other Quest hotels) I would be very tempted to try one of those instead.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, choose a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear sam_1220,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us at Quest Carlton on Finlay. It is wonderful to hear that our friendly and professional staff were the highlight of your stay as our personalised guest service is a strong focus for us in providing a warm and welcoming environment for all of our guests. I am happy to advise also that we are now in the early planning stages of a refurbishment for this property so you can expect in the future to see some exciting new changes at Quest Carlton on Finlay. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you visit Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had a great stay over Christmas. We had a late checkin and they left the key for us with directions to car park. It is on a lane off Lyon street but once we found all was good. Apartment was comfortable although it only had air con in lounge so took a while to cool both bedrooms. Car parking is $25 per night which is a bit over priced but had to pay. Plenty of restaurants close by and some do offer charge back to your room. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarwinBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Excellent location. Only 20 minutes drive from the airport and only 15 minutes walk from the CBD area. As it's located along Lygon Street, i.e. the Little Italy, you have plenty of choices of good restaurants, both Italian and non-Italian. It's only 5 minutes walk to the Carlton Gardens which my kids enjoyed playing there if you have nowhere else specific to visit in the day. I am a regular runner and I did a few morning jog around Carlton Gardens as well, excellent place for runners. Rooms are clean and facilities are generally new. The room size is a bit small but that's considered normal for a hotel in such a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not near to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWong73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Good apartment style hotel with very friendly helpful staff. Just off Lygon St and all the restauraunts and walking distance from the city. Good stop for business and for the family with all the facilities

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veiutotravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Arrived on a freezing Melbourne night to be greeted by a warm smile, a cosy appartment and only a quick stroll to the wealth of local restaurants. Perfect location, all the creature comforts to keep one comfortable. Will add it to the list of favourites.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear TieTraveller,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us at Quest Carlton on Finlay. We endeavour to be a warm and welcoming 'home away from home' for all of our guests and we look forward to seeing you back at Quest Carlton on Finlay in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#117 of 161 in Melbourne
141 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#88 of 161 in Melbourne
429 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on the Park
Mantra on the Park
#72 of 161 in Melbourne
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Flemington
#61 of 161 in Melbourne
327 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Carlton on Finlay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Carlton on Finlay

Address: 2 - 9 Finlay Pl | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $102 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Carlton on Finlay 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, comfortable and newly refurbished serviced apartment accommodation located in the heart of Melbournes' "Little Italy" awaits you at Quest Carlton on Finlay. Our 52 bright and spacious executive apartments provide you with a 'home away from home' experience from which you can make the most of your stay in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Carlton on Finlay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Carlton On Finlay Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing