We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Carlton on Finlay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Ranked #48 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Quest on Finlay for 1 night in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was spotlessly clean and very roomy and comfortable. The service at the front desk was fantastic and the staff went out of their way to assist us. I was very impressed that they allowed us to leave our car in the carpark until 4pm on the day of our checkout. I appreciated this very much. Will definitely return to the Quest on Finlay and would have no hesitation in recommending it to other travellers. Abundance of restaurants within metres of the apartments and an easy walk into the CBD for shopping or sightseeing. Overall an excellent place to stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    122
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
84
57
13
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment in this property for 10 days. The staff were all friendly and customer oriented. We arrived early (around 8:30am) for the 2PM check in time but they had the room ready for us by 10:00. While waiting for the room, we headed off to buy supplies and when we came back, our luggage was already brought into the room. I can single out Rachel at the reception who was very prompt in answering our questions and requests. The unit was good enough for 2 people. The bedroom was on the small side but had heaters for a comfortable sleep at this time of the year. The bed and pillows were comfortable too. It had all the amenities that were listed in the website. Broadband connection was good and it was complimentary for the booking we made. Room is cleaned daily unless you say otherwise. Location is great. Lots of dining options just outside the apartment and very close to the city. You can either walk about 15 minutes to CBD or take the bus just around the corner. The only improvement probably is to increase the plates, utensils as it is a bit inconvenient to keep on washing the items when you're cooking. Currently, the provision is only for 2 (i.e., 2 glasses, 2 plates, 2 flatware, etc.). Will definitely come back if I travel back to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit at the back which are quieter as previous reviewers suggested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asianbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very close to all the good restaurants in Carlton, within walking distance of the city,

Room Tip: Our room had a shower over a bath, if you have trouble with this make sure you ask for a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matildajane56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed here for a month while on business and I really liked the place.
The location is perfect; within walking distance to the CBD, all variety of restaurants and sightseeing options.

All the facilities in the apartment were perfect, from the comfortable bed to the lovely shower; both of which were greatly appreciated after a 24hour trip!

The only minor issues I have are
1. The price of parking
2. The signage out front. Both my taxi from the airport and Great Ocean road tour bus had difficulty locating the building. If possible a sign on Lygon street may help over come this

I would recommend this accommodation to anyone travelling to Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn_078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Evelyn46_11,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us and to share your experiences of Quest Carlton on Finlay. We pride ourselves on providing a home away from home experience for our extended stay guests and I will share your positive feedback with our team at the property. Thank you also for your suggestion regarding signage for locating the property. This is something we will certainly look into.
So glad you were able to experience our warm hospitality and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

I used to stay here all of the time but will not stay here again. Ever. At 11pm roadworks started in the lane outside my room. The only thing this lane leads to is the hotel. There was no chance the hotel didnt know that the guests would be kept awake all night. The road works were due to finish at 7am. It was not nice to wake to a jack hammer. I should have been informed at check in that I would not get any sleep. I didn't pay a bargain basement price for his room. In fact I paid a lot of money. Guests deserve more respect. At midnight I got up and made a reservation at another hotel and moved.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rmaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Rmaway,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Quest Carlton on Finlay and of course we are disappointed to hear that you were unsatisfied with your stay.
Roadwords were carried out by the council on Lygon Street earlier this week. We were originally advised they would be carried out on the previous week and made all possible efforts to contact our guests prior to their arrival to advise of this.
The roadworks were then rescheduled to this week (due to wet weather) at which point we then quickly tried to contact all guests and advise of the situation. We also put up signage in the elevator which gave the dates, time and information about the roadworks. I was personally present onsite overnight during the roadworks to deal with any issues and did recieve two telephone calls at which point I moved some guests to rooms further away from the laneway which resolved the issue. I would have been pleased to offer you this option also but from your review it appears that you left the property without advising that you were being disturbed?
While these roadwords were necessary, it is unfortunate that it appears we were unable to advise you prior to your arrival. Had you spoken with management the following day I believe an apology and a refund certainly would have been offered to you.
These roadworks have now been completed and we do not anticipate any further disturbance.
You are welcome to contact me at the property if you would like to discuss this further as you obviously have enjoyed staying with us in the past and we certainly do not wish to lose your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I had stayed here twice before and had seen this as a comfortable no frills option in a great location at the city end of Lygon st. The location provides easy access to the city, the Exhibition Building, Melbourne Museum and the varied offerings of cosmopolitan Lygon St. On these previous stays we had apartments looking out over Lygon st. which offered a pleasant vista. Not so this time with our apartment facing directly onto a brick wall adorned with various old ironwork. The lesson to be learned...ask for a room with a view! We did, once we saw our apartment, but the only option was on the 5th flloor and the lift was not working! To be fair we had been warned of the lift malfunction prior to our arrival, and these things happen.The apartment itself was OK: functional but with no outlook it was a little claustrophobic. There was also a rather unpleasant (? cooking) smell, which permeated the third floor corridor. We were not the only ones to make mention of this but nothing seemed to be done in response. So, overall a disappointing experience in a place that I have enjoyed in the past. Perhaps just a bad week?

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Carlton on Finlay, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Neil M,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Quest Carlton on Finlay - it is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us a number of times in the past. With regard to your most recent stay, I understand you were staying in one of the apartments on the lower floor which backs onto another building. The brick wall you mention is actually heritage listed signage dating back many years and we like to think of it as our little piece of history!
When you next return please do contact us prior to arrival to request an apartment overlooking Lygon Street or on a higher floor so as to have a more open outlook.
The smell you mention was noticed by a number of guests and of course staff, and this was coming from the lift while it was being renovated - I believe it was the Hydraulic Oil which was replaced - the smell is now gone. You could say it was a difficult week with our lift out of action, so thank you for your understanding.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having you return to Quest Carlton on Finlay again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We visited Melbourne to see the King Tutankhamen Exhibition at the Museum - about five minutes' walk away. We wanted to be close to the CBD, but not actually in it. Carlton is the perfect alternative. Its location makes it ideal for foodies as there's restaurants galore nearby. We walked to Melbourne city each day (about 15 minutes away) and really enjoyed the exercise during our five day stay.

Our apartment was booked on the internet. The cheerful receptionist rang the next morning to confirm all our details - including car parking requirements. Check-in was prompt and service fantastic.

Quest Carlton on Finlay is located at the end of a very short laneway off Lygon Street. Ours was a one bedroom apartment with basic kitchenette, small dining area, lounge, combined bathroom/laundry, bedroom and balcony on a lower floor.

The room was clean and comfortable and located at the rear of the building. In addition, the balcony faced a brick wall of the building which backed onto it. Perfect for us as it meant NO street / restaurant / reveller noise at all. We actually appreciated the view of the old signage as we love old buildings - see photos.

My two minor grumbles are:
1. The morning light did penetrate the blinds and curtains - waking us up earlier than we would have liked.
2. Tiny space on the bathroom vanity with no additional wall shelves - it's insufficient to place many toiletries upon.

We will definitely return to Quest Carlton on Findlay - and hopefully be in the same apartment.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the rear of the building - on the lower floors. However, you may not have a fabul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ready_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#115 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#150 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#95 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Carlton on Finlay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Carlton on Finlay

Property: Quest Carlton on Finlay
Address: 2 - 9 Finlay Pl | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Carlton on Finlay 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, comfortable and newly refurbished serviced apartment accommodation located in the heart of Melbournes' "Little Italy" awaits you at Quest Carlton on Finlay. Our 52 bright and spacious executive apartments provide you with a 'home away from home' experience from which you can make the most of your stay in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quest Carlton on Finlay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Carlton On Finlay Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing