We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ranked #112 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2nd time here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

this is my 2nd time in ibis budget melbourne cbd. The main thing i like about this hotels is the location. Perfect. Very near to Federation Square and Flinders Street. Everything is walking distance. If u are looking for Halal food they are everywhere around. Nelayan Restaurant in Swanson St, Mamak in Little Collins, Chilipadi in Melbourne Central, Mama Wong's in Flinders Street. No hassle at all. Just 1 thing to comment, the is only 1 person that handle the counter so u hv to wait while she is handling other customer and then she is also the one that need to show their room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank dalilamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    430
    363
    113
    72
See reviews for
302
266
174
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

This budget hotel has tiny, decent, rooms for cheap money in central Melbourne CBS (Elizabeth street) and is close to many attractions (sea life, shopping malls, Victoria market, south warf, stations etc.) don't bother paying 9 dollars for the breakfast: I paid for it and the last day I skipped it, it is poor and if you have an intolerance you'll die of hunger. So keep the money and go to one of the many bars just downstairs. Also forget the wifi. On some floors it is not available, and is awfully expensive. Well... In principle in 2014 I would ban hotels from selling rooms without full and free internet wifi, but I'll give his ibis 3 starts only for the price/location relationship.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tas, Aus
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is very basic, no fridge or tea making facilites but TV and a/c plus ensuite. Its a little tatty but clean. Its in a great central location and has double glazed windows so it was quiet during the night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DitaMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel in February, we weren't very impressed and were actually refunded when I arrived home to the uk.
Luckily I took pictures of the room and the things that were broken and dirty.
Location wise was the best hotel that I stayed in during my touring around Australia!! Melbourne is beautiful.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel is closed to everything in CBD and great value
We been there in Jan 2014, the price is quite value compared with the other hotels within that area. we did not need to take the transportation by joining the local tours.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kay4433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel's location is excellent being 15 minutes walk from Southern Cross Station, 5 minutes walk from Flinders Street station, a block away from town hall, 15 minutes walk from Victoria Market, a block away from Burke Mall, eating places all around, and tram stop point right outside the hotel! 24x7 taxi is available across the street outside Novotel.

Hotel: is okay for the price we pay given the price of other properties around. Rooms clean, not noisy but room service is twice a week, and space is limited. Windows do not open but translucent glasses bring in light during day time. Bathroom really tiny.

Basic breakfast there for aud 9 but hot water (and coffee/ tea sachet) + microwave use is free round the clock.

Hotel staff: super helpful. This is another high point of this hotel with such helpful and warm staff. Vicky and Amit needs a special mention for all their help and attending to our needs onsite. Huge thanks to the staff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyramakant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed with my two adult sons over a weekend. The hotel is in a great central CBD location and is very basic which was expected. Our room was small and dark, but comfortable. It would have been good to have at least the ability to make tea and coffee but I acknowledge that it is budget driven. The hotel served a purpose as we only slept there and was certainly good value for a CBD location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nev67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#111 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#135 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#128 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Property: Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Address: 97 - 103 Elizabeth St | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL NEWLY REFURBISHED NO CARPARK this can be booked for you, it is approx 600 meters away, please ask reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing