We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good cheap accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ranked #111 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good cheap accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here with my son, overnight when we went to Melbourne for the Liverpool FC - Victory game at the MCG.

Walking distance to the city circle tram, fed square, flinders street station and the MCG.

Room was basic witha double and an overhead bunk and was quite large and spacious, shower and toilet were clean.

Security provided on the door for our return late in the evning which was good.

Only down side the lift is very slow

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    407
    357
    107
    69
See reviews for
295
252
165
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great value for money. Good location, convenient to get around in the city area. Friendly and helpful reception. We placed 3 different bookings for 3 consecutive days. 2 of the days were triple sharing (1 double and 1 overhead bunk bed) and last day was a family room for 4 persons (1 double and 2 bunk beds). The receptionist was so nice to upgrade us for the first 2 nights to family room at no additional cost!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in July for the Liverpool FC game at the MCG.
The hotel is very basic but I found it to be clean & it had just about all I needed for my no frills visit to Melbourne for the football. The bed was comfortable, the shower facilities worked well & there was ample hot water. Other than the beds (queen size bed & a bunk bed above), TV, toilet & shower & an old clock radio there was nothing in the room.
If I had been traveling with my wife then I would not have stayed here, I would have chosen somewhere a little nicer but it did all it had to do.
The staff were all very pleasant & helpful. The lady at reception when I checked in was especially helpful & welcoming.
I think the rooms could just do with a small fridge to keep drinks cold & a kettle, the hotel don't have to supply tea & coffee etc but the facilities in the room to make a drink would certainly make the rooms better.
The breakfast in the hotel hardly seems worth the money when you see what is available just ashort distance away for the same money.
I would stay again in a similar circumstances but not if I was travelling with my wife.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NawtyStupot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Very central hotel, but the rooms are really cramped and the ensuite is only separated by a curtain. Some natural light would've been nice but he window was covered. If you want the cheapest option this is it. It was fine, but next time I'll probably spend a little more and go to a nicer place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank genoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was not expecting this to be a five star experience but I was pleasantly surprised by the room and the facilities, we stayed in the city for the Liverpool game at the MCG and as such it was a busy time in Melbourne. To get a room for four people for less than 100 dollars all up was a treat. The room was basic but clean and provided a double bed and a set of bunks. There was a shower and a separate toilet so privacy was not really an issue. The biggest bonus was the availability of the breakfast room, which was basically a fully equipped kitchen which was available 24 hours a day... Free tea and coffee and somewhere to sit was a hit with our group of four. The checkin was smooth and very friendly, there was security on the front door for late night arrivals and the location could not be better, walking distance to everything you could ever want from supermarkets to late night food outlets and transport at the front door. If you are on a budget and need the convenience then this is definitley the place for you...

Room Tip: Not too high up as the lifts were a bit small and slow ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank povman1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#110 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#140 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#144 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Property: Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Address: 97 - 103 Elizabeth St | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL NEWLY REFURBISHED NO CARPARK this can be booked for you, it is approx 600 meters away, please ask reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing