We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short yet Simple Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ranked #114 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Short yet Simple Stay”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Believed it is rebranded as Ibis Budget, stayed here for 6 nights. Couldn't expect much for a budget hotel yet stay was considered flawless. Despite the slow / old working elevators which consumes quite some time, everything else including the room was decent. Room was average and cleanliness is up to standard. Bath towels are replenished daily, room made up for the first 2 days. However, subsequently was not made up. Not too sure about why ? Not too sure if they don't make up rooms on weekends ? Just towels left on the bed. It has very low security, nevertheless, during weekends a security is being placed at the door front which ensures a little more safety during these wild nights. Location is great, located right in the inner city, 2 blocks away from Flinders Train station, trams and busses are practically convenient as well.

The downside of this hotel is that, it is old, most facilities are in bad conditions. Had only 1 elevator working during my last 2 days. Definitely a hard time i had during check out and was really time consuming. After all, it was cheap and couldn't expect more from it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyongadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    454
    370
    117
    75
See reviews for
307
285
184
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel was great in terms of location. The price was good, the room was clean (although very small) and we were not disturbed by noise.

It would be great if the rooms had a refrigerator and a hair dryer. Also there was not a cover on the quilt - it was enclosed in two clean sheets, which made the bed a bit awkward.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ADL_LawyersRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I enjoyed staying here, it was very easy to find in the CBD. Very central in the CBD the room was very simple but clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again! I didn't have the breakfast offered, but it looked reasonable.
I would recommend this accommodation to family and friends coming to Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 945Sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

it has very low security. It has one shared refrigerator which one time my stuff were stolen. during our 5 day stay. they cleaned our room only one time. But every day they brought new towel and toilet paper. Our room had no window :( And we missed day light.The main good point is that it located in city center. The price was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SaRa_777_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Love the no fuss check ins and outs. Clean towels everyday and the hotel is definitely good value for money. iBis is also aptly located near flinders station so it's easy to commute. The only thing bothering me is there was a weird smell coming out from our room on the last day and we couldn't locate the source of it; otherwise, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jenifer Alicia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This inner city hotel (now rebadged as Ibis Budget) is in a fantastic location one block from Flinders St Station and two from Mall. It's rooms are very reasonable being just over $100 for a family room with a double and a bunk bed. It's clean though the walls are scuffed and the carpet old. It is however no frills. Bed is ok but pillows could be thicker, no tea and coffee facilities in room though there is a fridge. Small shelf on wall for desk, no lounge and shower comes straight off room (toilet is separate.) In addition we had no external windows. Look at other travelers photos to see rooms.

One lift broke one day we were there which was a pain.

You get a great location for a cheap price so don't expect a palatial room. I would return for location and price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minkyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Could improve sleep quality with some extra/better pillows. If you need cheap it's fine Good location easy walk to anywhere in town bus to airport shopping and sports. Train station just two blocks away

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank saintlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
207 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#107 of 160 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#136 of 160 in Melbourne
1,337 reviews
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#139 of 160 in Melbourne
241 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Property: Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Address: 97 - 103 Elizabeth St | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL NEWLY REFURBISHED NO CARPARK this can be booked for you, it is approx 600 meters away, please ask reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing