We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like it simple, it's no problem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ranked #114 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you like it simple, it's no problem.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have 4 requirements when I pick a hotel/motel when I'm travelling:
1) Good location 2) Clean 3) Comfy beds 4) Quiet
And for $80 a night, that's exactly what I got. It's not fancy. There's no fridge or spa.But it had clean towels and bed linen and the bed was comfortable. Flat screen TV worked well. It was really quiet at night. $10 cab from Southern Cross Station. Tram line right outside (goes straight into Carlton. Lygon Street a 2 minute walk from the tram). Short walk to Burke Street Mall, Federation Square, St Paul's Cathedral and Flinders Street Station. Coffee shops/food/ supermarket all located on Elizabeth St. Only downside is it's got a funky smell in the hallways and elevators (one elevator definitely worse than the other) but I think this is due to general lack of airflow (no open windows in halls) so it just feels musty. The good people also let us check in early. It is $5 to store your luggage once you've checked out, but they let my friend get into hers later that day so she could change her clothes. Reception were always friendly and polite. The shower is a little strange. There are glass doors on the shower, but it is only separated from the room by a shower curtain. No issue if you can get dressed in the shower. Was no problem to us, but some people may not like it. Overall, it was a pleasant place to stay for one night. Keep a look out for the Ibis Budget sign. If you're not looking for it, you will easily walk past it (as we did a few times)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    438
    365
    116
    73
See reviews for
306
271
178
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Low price, low expectations (which were met).

Busy, central, backpacker style hotel. Convenient location, clean rooms, spacious enough.

Main lift not working so terribly slow to go up or down (to check in or out, or to get to room).

We didn't pay much for our family of two adults and two kids so happy overall. Stayed one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fie_Rie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Four of us stayed in a quad room (queen + bunks) which was a little small but adequate. Good that the shower and toilet was separate so two people could use them at the same time. The wash basin was a little small and the changing area with just a drawn curtain was a bit inconvenient after showering. It was a good thing that there was a water dispenser in the lobby so we did not have to look for a supermarket to buy drinking water. The hotel is well located right in the CBD and just a short walk away from the Bourke Street Mall with The Pancake Parlour. Many thanks to the friendly and helpful hotel staff at check-in and after check-out where they helped us to store our luggage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Chew88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koo-Wee-Rup, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay in the city on the night before Run For The Kids. We got a room for $129 which is quite cheap compared to all the other hotels in the area. While the room was not too exciting, it had everything you we'd and was quiet - which is all we needed. Bed was comfortable and we got a good night sleep. We will stay here again for the next city run! Thanks!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank abeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Room was clean and tidy and had all the essentials. Location very central, but also quiet. Could leave my bag there during the day before I checked in, but was a little shocked that to leave it there on the day of departure incurred a $5 fee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DaniJB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Located at the very nice city center. Is so convenience to travel around the city. There are also security at the entrance during Friday and Saturday night to ensure the guest safety stay. Just the room a little bit smaller than the expectation. Bath room and toilet are separated is not that convenient. Over all is a good budget hotel for couple.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kl_lee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

When prices were are hiked up over the F1GP weekend, this very basic hotel suited our needs adequately for 2 nights. We spent so very little time here that it really was a base to leave our belongings and sleep. The location was ideal as it's central and easily accessible to the trams and a 5 min tram ride to Southern Cross station. The Queen room was compact, with a small shower/basin sectioned off with a curtain. I wish I'd not booked the decidedly less than average breakfast online ($9pp) as we didn't even have it on our 2nd morning due to leaving too early for it. This really is the next level up from a backpackers, it's basic, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mejo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#116 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#133 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Property: Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Address: 97 - 103 Elizabeth St | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL NEWLY REFURBISHED NO CARPARK this can be booked for you, it is approx 600 meters away, please ask reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing