We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Value for Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ranked #119 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute Value for Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel Ibis Budget ( Formerly Formule 1 Melbourne CBD), 97 – 103, Elizabeth Street, CBD, Melbourne
Talking of Hotel accommodation and that too in heart of Melbourne; the fifth most expensive City in the World. And then in Melbourne, in the CBD and that too on the Elizabeth Street. Look left and you see the Iconic Heritage Building - the GPO. Look right and your eyes get glued to the most beautiful Flinders Station. Rotate your neck 180 degrees and you have Bars, Restaurants, Shopping Malls, Business Centers, Free Tram and Bus Stops, Convenience Stores and what-ever one might want as a Tourist.
So much for the Location of Hotel Ibis (Budget), 97- 103, Elizabeth Street, Melbourne; formerly known as Formule 1 Melbourne CBD.
And all this and much more within AUD 75 – 85 per night. And if you still want 5 star facilities in the Hotel, then you got to rethink.
Most conveniently located, it offers a clean environment, Good Air Conditioning, Comfortable beds, Clean Linen, and a friendly staff at the Reception located on the First Floor. Ground Floor are all Shops/ Showrooms. Internet available on payment at the Reception. Airport Shuttle drop/ Pickup point right at the Hotel doorstep.
The down side - narrow dark corridors, small room with a small WC cubicle, even smaller cubicle shower and a Wash Basin which is just outside the Shower but in the room with a Curtained partition. Quarter Table and a chair. Bunk bed as third bed. No Telephone. No closet. No pegs for hanging clothes either. Practically no view. No parking. No in house restaurant except Breakfast that can be ordered in advance. But then, they say all this on their website; so no one can claim that they have been short-changed.
The location, price band and the good points mentioned above make it absolute Value for Money. Please do not expect more at this price any-where. Overall, Hotel Ibis Budget is a definite Value for money.
Sandeep Gupta.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeeppratima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    380
    345
    103
    67
See reviews for
276
244
154
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Sadly, I had a disappointing stay at the Ibis Budget Hotel.

The beds are comfortable and the receptionist (I can't remember her name) when I checked in to the hotel was the only friendly one there for this stay, as the guy there looks at you as if you are stupid and a different girl was very rude.

When I went to use the esculator to get to the second floor for my room the esculator doors were very quick closing and slammed into my shoulder and elbow, which then became very sore. Fortunately, I am still young, but if this was to happen to someone much older then it could have been seriously hurtful for them, and could have easily injured them their arms and shoulders.

The rooms are very small and crowded. Don't know why they had windows in my room as they had some sheet of dark glued on to them so you couldn't look out, or open, the windows. Felt like I was in a prison cell-locked away from the outside world. The walls aren't clean-cobwebs and stains. I had stayed here for more than night in my room and not once when housekeeping made the bed and changed the towels did they remove the cobwebs and stains. It seems all they did was made the bed and changed the bath towels when needed.

The toilet is in a closet. The bathroom is way too small! The shower is in a small corner and when you walk out the bathroom sink is right against the shower glass-and that's all the space you have for the bathroom! There was no where to hang the bath towels, no hand towels or flannels were given (as there was no space for them anyway). The bathroom sink is way too shallow! So it was hard for rinsing your mouth after brushing your teeth.

Breakfast is only available from 7am, and won't do boxed packed breakfasts for you. So having to leave the hotel by 7am for day tours, meant I had to find my own way of getting breakfast each morning. THERE ARE NO FRIDGES IN THE ROOM! This was a real nuisance as coming back late from day tours, I then had to spent the night trying to buy something for breakfast the next morning which doesn't need to be kept in the fridge. When I told reception about needing a fridge, I was then informed of their communal fridge (which I was never informed of before). So that was no help.

I wouldn't like to stay at this hotel again. Only a couple of the reception staff are friendly and the rest are far from it. The rooms need a good cleaning and a fridge! I think this hotel is only good 1 night last minute stays, not long stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishAussie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Ibis Budget is very centrally located to just about everything in the city - we found it perfect for walking down to the river for breakfast each morning.

We stayed 5 nights, myself and my partner, on the top floor as requested (I love when a hotel accomodates your requests) and our comfy bed was made each day with 3 new towels (always good to have a spare!) The bathroom was not an issue to us for privacy, however we did have some problems with the shower temperature - struggled to find a happy medium - but not really a bother to us. The window blind facing the front of the hotel had a broken latch, and so we were woken with a lot of sun each morning - again not a real problem for us, but some people do like to sleep in when on holiday!

In regards to baggage storage after checkout, they have lockers you can hire for up to 12 hours for $5. Some people will say that's ridiculous, but we fit 2 very big suitcases in one locker so they are a very decent size! and we knew they were secure there so we didn't mind.

Overall a great stay at Ibis Budget, especially when you factor in the price you pay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia-jessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Expectedly not much service for the price i paid i.e needing to pay to store luggage when checking out, towels weren't enough and lack of phone meaning you need to go down yourself to get it, room wasn't tidied during stay. but overall good value and very convenient to get around. Good for people who just want a decent place to stay at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s0hp0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We Stayed in quad room for 4nights at end of Jan2013.
1. The location was strategic where the access to most tram was very near (right at the corner). This hotel was located at the heart of CBD, where most restaurant and 7-e were nearby
2. We were allowed to have an early check in (11am), the receptionist was helpful and kind enough to tell us where to get the drinking water and the access to kitchen facilities
3. The room was basic, with a section for sink& standing bathroom, and another small room for lavatory. Nevertheless, with the price offered (which similar to price offered by hostel),the flat screen tv and the desk were an extra bonus to the customer.
4. The bed was comfy, had deep sleep every nights of my stay
5. Air cond and heater were working well

Overall, generally was a great and pleasant stay, will recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great place to stay, within easy walking distance to main attractions. I liked that the hotel is very close to Flinders station so it was very easy to get to the hotel with our suitcases. Room was very clean and staff were very helpful. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 263Travel_Girl263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#91 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#101 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#132 of 156 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#129 of 156 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Property: Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Address: 97 - 103 Elizabeth Street | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NO PARKING Facilities At This Ibis Budget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing