We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveler rating
182
497
415
127
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
497
415
127
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationelizabeth stseparate toiletbudget stayblock arcadesmall fridgeflinders st stationfresh towelshot waterbreakfast roomcentral locationtram stopshort stayearly checkpublic transportfree trammin walk
Filter
Updating list...
878 - 883 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Simple rooms, cleaned daily with air con & a tv. No kitchenette which was a pain with a baby to have to go downstairs to the communal kitchen but we managed! Perfect for travellers without children & not bad for families with children!

The location could not get any better! I"ve stayed twice & i will stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanaya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It is centrally located with many different restaurants available nearby and perfect for shopping.
It's absolutely no need to eat their breakfast. There is 3 different pizza restaurant down in the street with only $2 per slice. The room is big and clean. The bed is comfortable and it's quiet at night.
The only thing I don't like is that we need to pay $5 to lock the luggage in the lockers after check out in the morning. Even if we don't want to lock the luggage, they don't allow us to simply place the luggage somewhere outside the lock room. Therefore, we have to carry the luggage with us for the whole morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delicia30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very basic with no toiletries except for soap, no bath mat and you make up the top sheet and blanket. However, it was clean and not noisy. Very central location. Good continental breakfast (choice of cereals with yoghurt and tinned peaches, plenty of bread and conserves, tea and coffee) for $9

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is soon to become part of the Ibis budget series, which pretty much sums up the overall atmosphere of the hotel. The hotel is on par with the quality of accommodation on offer from the YHA backpacker accommodation, which is a lot cheaper for the quality that is on offer. The room is very basic and bland, with a TV, and very compact bathroom/toilet space. The only thing that is offered is soap and towels for the bathing. No coffee/tea on offer, nor any cups/glasses for water. The quality of sleep was impaired by the sound of slamming doors throughout the night (sounded like someone was smashing up the room on the floor above.

I'm sure that if the circumstances were different, I would have had a better night's sleep. However, for the price you pay at this hotel you can find better quality within the CBD. Hopefully, the new alliance with the Ibis Budget brand will see the rooms priced at the value it is truly worth, and becomes a viable alternative to backpacker accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myoung023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F1Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hi myoung023,

Your stay with us seems to have been a bit of a nasty shock, you have my sincere apologies for the obvious disappointment you experienced.
That’s certainly not our aim in life - disappointing people. Please contact me directly at the hotel if there are specific aspects of your stay you would like me to address.
To anyone experiencing any issues during their stay please come and see us at reception so we can do something about it at the time. We want and need you to be happy with your stay.
Prices are always subjective of course, our prices go from $69 to $179, the top end of that Is too much to charge for the style of room we have here.......However
We are market & demand driven. So if we are charging $179 for a room, you will not get another in the CBD on that night for a lower price - the city is heavily booked to Full. If we are charging $100 for a room in the CBD this represents incredibly good value as it's the Location you are paying for with us Not the room. People really need to understand that, just as we understand people have a much higher expectation when paying $149 - but our rooms remain the same – which can then lead to some disappointments along the way.
We would encourage everyone to shop around - if you normally stay 3 to 5 star, you may well not be really comfortable here with us, you are the best judge for what you need in your hotel room / experience / location. If you see city prices creeping up all over the place this means rooms are filling and will soon be sold out - book early whenever you can, to secure good prices.
We can give you, lovely staff, a compact room with shower, toilet & TV - but that’s about it.
We hope you had a great time in Melbourne and would love to welcome you back in the future should we suit your needs.
Safe Travels.
Kind Regards,
Tracy.
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews