We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Late booking, great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sud Food and Wine

Sud Food and Wine
Reserve with
Sud Food and Wine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 3,775 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: SUD is an intimate 45 seat Italian restaurant situated at 219 King street Melbourne This small upmarket restaurant on King st (between Lonsdale and Little Bourke) not only boasts fantastic seasonal produce, allowing the menu to constantly evolve daily but also an extensively dynamic wine list to compliment any meal, hailing from various regions of Italy as well as carefully sourced local producers. SUD frequently caters to a corporate clientele as the quiet, warmly lit ambiance promotes a comfortable familiar atmosphere.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Late booking, great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Booked dinner that afternoon and was not disappointed. The main waiter was excellent and they made my girlfriend and i really enjoy our night. They had an excellent range of wines and the food was great, even if you couldn't understand what the menu said exactly, all was explained beautifully by the waiter with incredible charm. Definitely recommend, despite the hefty bill at the end of it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DWhatmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo T, Owner at Sud Food and Wine, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Ciao bella and bello!

Apologies for the delay in responding to your kind review.
Very pleased to read that you both enjoyed the food and wine here @ SUD.

Ciao for now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    28
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a beautiful meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are so lucky to have Sud as a local restaurant within walking distance! It's a small, cosy restaurant and the staff are lovely. Beautiful Italian food, delicious wine. Perfect for a romantic meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LushieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo T, Owner at Sud Food and Wine, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Ciao bella!

Apologies for the delay in responding to your very nice review.
Very pleased to read that you and your husband enjoyed your evening here at SUD.

Look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I had dinner there . The service was very good . Our waiter was wonderful we left our meal in his hands and weren't disappointed . We had an array of different types of food which were delicious but the highlight was desert oh my god it was delicious we shared Tiramisu and panacotta with berry sorbet absolutely delicious . We had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cazzygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo T, Owner at Sud Food and Wine, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Ciao bella!
Apologies for the delay in responding to your review.

All of us here at SUD are very pleased to read that you and your husband enjoyed your wonderful dinner experience.
Our apprentice come pastry chef, Rachael, in particular, was mightly pleased that you both enjoyed the tiramisu and the pannacotta.

Look forward to seeing you again when you are next in downtown Melbourne!

Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Brilliant execution, excellent service in great surrounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Went on a whim, was welcomed and well looked after. Knowledgeable and professional waiters guided me through a dazzling array of specials. The scallops were quite outstanding - cooked to perfection, and served with and interesting roe, my beef main was also of a high standard and the dolce course was originally conceived and perfectly executed. This is a great restaurant. Make a point of visiting you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo T, Owner at Sud Food and Wine, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Ciao!
Thank you for your very kind words.
Perhaps see you again when you are next in Melbourne.
Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aust
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best lunch in melb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Have been several times before the last being for lunch with my wife for our wedding anniversary. We tried the degustation menu. Fabulous. Just told the owner (Vincenzo) what we liked and he took care of the rest. All dishes were at least very good with the majority outstanding. Rare to find a restaurant owned and run by the same person in the city. Atmosphere is great but the food is what you come here for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keepitrealAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo T, Owner at Sud Food and Wine, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Ciao!

Thank you for your very kind words.
Very happy to read you thorough;y enjoyed your SUD experience!
We look forward to seeing you again, at some future point in time.

Again, thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sud Food and Wine also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Sud Food and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing