We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opa ... What a night !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stavros Tavern

Stavros Tavern
Reserve with
Stavros Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #786 of 4,053 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Opa ... What a night !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Stavros Tavern a few times over the past few years and have yet to be disappointed.. I had a chance to visit again a couple of weeks ago and to no surprise, the food was exceptional ....and very Greek ( I am Greek after all so I should know).. All Greek meals differ as they are influenced by the province from which the chef originates. Stavros' flavours have a hint of middle eastern.. And though I may love my mum's cooking, Stavros just nails it!
We booked a table for 3 and ordered a la carte and shared our selection.. And let me tell you ....
The jeez & dips were great, as was the bread (the home made olive bread is the best).
The Kouba was more-ish .. Mmmmm .. I want some more now :)
The Kalamari Pikantiko was divine with spices and sensational aroma.
The Lamb Paidakia were tender and perfectly grilled
The staff were wonderful and accommodating.. What more could a diner ask for.

Thank you again Stavros and staff

P.S. .. The authentic Greek music played by the 2 piece band and the smashing of plates and dancing Greek just added to the wonderful atmosphere and authenticity .. Opa ... What a night !!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teenz222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Go Greek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love everything about Stavros Tavern. The cosy clean, well presented restaurant with great well priced meals. Well hosted as well.
We eat there once a week.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went with friends using a voucher, service was friendly, food was ok. The staff were very patient with us as we were the last customers to leave.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stumpiestaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor value and small portions.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

went with another couple on a voucher. We eat Greek regularly so know what is good. Mixed dips were tasty but very scungy serve. Would have been OK for 2 but not
for 4. Flat bread was
great but other breads
were inedible.
Shared meat platter. Not generous and was OK. Was still hungry so bought an extra main. No wonder this place was nearly empty. On a brighter note the service was very good.Ended up paying more than we would have at our fav Greek restaurant...The Med Tavern in Elsternwick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value for money greek restraunt (Voucher)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Went there on a voucher and was excellent value.Inticed to go again and try from menu.From what was on fare seemed good.Had I paid full price would of rated differently as was O.K but nothing outstanding

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Helen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stavros Tavern also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Stavros Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing