We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great yum cha”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shark Fin Inn

Shark Fin Inn
Ranked #434 of 4,053 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great yum cha”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I love going here for the yum cha although it can be very busy on the weekends. must book in advance.
the service may be very rushed

Helpful?
Thank Lilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    154
    63
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Temora, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good, quick yum cha”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We lunched here twice in one trip to Mebourne, and had a pleasant experience on both occasions. We were seated quickly and treated politely by all the staff. We were offered a good selection of items on both trips, although one of our baskets seemed to be past it's best in that it had cooled a bit. Overall a good lunch at quite a reasonable price.

Helpful?
Thank vicNtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western
Level Contributor
181 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Late night option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Service very good and the food I had was just what I required. For a late hight meal, after 11PM, it fitted the bill well. Not cheap but proced well for the quality.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pearler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Small choice and slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We decided to have Yum Cha lunch at this place based of recommendations in Melbourne Guide book available in our hotel. It is positioned as Melbourne's Yam Cha Icon... Well, may it was a case some time ago... Now it's place for tourists rip-off.

For some reason we were directed to the first flow while ground flow had few empty tables. We found that first floor dining hall was very crowded with tables so close to each other than people were uncomfortable. Surprisingly, people were seating with empty tables - just chilli sauce and pot of tea. In few minutes we understood that food was delivered from the ground flow kitchen every 5-10 mins in the quantities insufficient for such number of people. After about 10 mins we managed to get only one dish. Well, it was disappointment too...

Waiter said that we could order the food without waiting for Yam Cha dishes. However, no menu was provided. So, we explained what we want - barbeque pork... well, what we had was something like pork richly covered by BBQ sauce..

We saw similar frustration in many other tables and people were leaving unhappy.

Would not recommend this place to anybody.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not a very good choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

After having tried some of the restaurants in the area, we regretted going to Shark Fin for our final dinner in Melbourne. We found the food here not very fresh or interesting or authentic, Given the prices of each item, we expected good quality; it turned out to be not very good value for money. Certainly, there are much better choices in the area for the same type of food and maybe even lower-priced.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cot2ntail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shark Fin Inn also viewed

 

Been to Shark Fin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing