We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended at all” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Emperor Chinese Restaurant

Red Emperor Chinese Restaurant
Reserve with
Red Emperor Chinese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southbank
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not recommended at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

we had the new yesr's eve dinner over there and were very dissapointed... Relaying on the previous opinions expected the higher class of service and food. Probably because of lack of the space we got a spare table that wasn't even stable, didn't have the only one waiter what was confusing . The meals weren't served for me and my husband at the same time- absolutelly unforgivable!! And the worst- for the meal that costs over $50 none of us was happy of. Deffinitely visit the other much nicer fine restaurants at Southbank. Not recommended at all!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    112
    34
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“First class service & food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Had a birthday function here recently for 8 people for the first time since they changed location at Southbank. From what I recall of previous visits the food has always been great. But let's face it any decent Chinese restaurant should be able to make decent Chinese food.. What really sets this place apart is the service. Welcoming, friendly, very attentive and even interactive when you want them to be. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neilwinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best chinese food in Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I went here for a work dinner and was a little sceptical about the choice as memories of gluggy sweet and sour pork from childhood had put me off chinese for a long time. We arrived and were warmly greeted by Raymond who recognised one of our group as a regular. The service was fantastic, very old style attention to detail. Our shared banquet was served at the table by Raymond using silver service and our wine glasses were never empty. We had some delicious Peking duck pancakes - beautiful light pancakes. A very impressive dinner in a lovely setting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank indiga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4,908 reviews
2,760 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,796 helpful votes
“My favourite Chinese restaurant in Melbourne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Love the ambience and atmosphere of the river - gives a different feeling to others in Chinatown.
This is a high quality restaurant both in service and quality of food - a little expensive but worth it.
Sometimes when I stay in the CBD, I see it as an effort to make the walk to Southbank and just walk the few metres to Chinatown - on most times, I have regretted it.
Much prefer the quality of Red emperor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Banquet dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This Restaurant was very impressive and although might be a little expensive was well worth the money we spent. Enjoyed every mouthful!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mazza455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Emperor Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Red Emperor Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing