We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Peking Beef!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Emperor Chinese Restaurant

Red Emperor Chinese Restaurant
Reserve with
Red Emperor Chinese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southbank
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Peking Beef!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Lovely evening meal had at red emperor. Picked the Peking beef and certainly wasn't disappointed. Good flavour, tender meat, very happy. Service was fantastic. Then finished with the deep fried ice cream (haven't had this since I was a child) and it was lovely!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MRN901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    112
    34
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Yum Cha in Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The food at this restaurant is fresh, tasty and delicious. We had not been for about 10 years and we were pleasantly surprised that it still had that upmarket ambience. Some of the dishes were the normal steamed dumplings but the specials brought around by wait staff were superb. The view over the Yarra is wonderful. We have eaten Yum Cha about once a month for 20 odd years and will be making this our normal Yum Cha dining experience. The staff were attentive and very professional. The wait staff with the food trolleys were polite, unlike some Yum Cha restaurants in Melbourne where all they do is shuffle. What was most surprising was the bill - we thought it was going to be a lot more than it was. Thoroughly enjoyable leisurely Sunday lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KENDALLJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fresh look, lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have long known this reliable restaurant in central Southgate for yum cha. On this occasion, we were staying nearby and were after a gentle healthy Asian meal to help soothe sore throats. The new floor location was a surprise and the decor very stylish and calming in effect. The staff could not have been more informative or helpful. We soon had a beautiful tonic soup to aid the healing process and a great dish it was. Other suitable dishes chosen for their ying and yang balance (nothing too "heaty" for cold sufferers) were also delicious, including a simple dish of Asian greens in a state of edible perfection. We cannot speak too highly of the staff who were so attentive and friendly, we left warmed to the heart on a freezing night. This is an ideal choice for anyone staying in adjacent hotels as we were, and we will be returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foowashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have been regulars at this restaurant for a long time, since the change to new premises one floor below it is not as good as it was. The food is still good however the service has deteriorated and is quite slow now. The other problem is that they have introduced two sittings on Saturdays and this does create quite a problem for us as the times do not suit. They have lost some regulars due to this and the lack of service. It is a shame.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 121magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Tasteful Chinese food overlooking the Yarra river and Flinders Street Station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had fabulous tasty Chinese food there, staff were friendly. We ordered the mud crab in spicyXO sauce, Kung Po prawns, Peking duck and seafood crispy noodles. The price was a bit pricey compared to other Chinese restaurant, could be because it is slightly upmarket. A very busy place, obviously very popular. The only disappointing part is they have two seatings... 6pm and 8pm. For a special night out, especially having an expensive dish like mud crab which took a while to eat (absolutely beautiful dish) we felt a bit rushed. Overall, a nice restaurant.... We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank brettnjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Emperor Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Red Emperor Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing