We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Melbourne
Post
Inbox
Search

“Hidden Gem Restaurant”

Radii Restaurant & Bar
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 2/24
8:00 PM
Ranked #418 of 5,443 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Awarded Deluxe Restaurant of The Year at the 2016 Tourism Accommodation Australia (TAA) Awards for Excellence. As you make your way to the table, be part of the action as our chefs’ chop, dice, sift and stir in the open plan kitchen. Absorb the energetic atmosphere as Chef de Cuisine Tyson Gee leads his team in an exciting and innovative direction. Stepping away from a traditional three-course meal, radii restaurant & bar offers guests a sharing style menu that is inspired, refined, featuring flavours from around the globe. Listen and learn as our attentive associates share with you the stories of our suppliers as you sit back and enjoy some of Australia’s best produce and finest wine in luxurious surrounds.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a dinner there with friend, this is a second time visit, new menu. Their food and services are really good. A lovely lady Kelly serving our table, provide good recommendation foods and drink, she is friendly and polite, well trained staff. As a five star hotel restaurant, they price well and affordable, a must visit restaurant in Melbourne, will go back again.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank timcR9616HZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa A, Manager at Radii Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

dear timcR9616HZ,

Thank you so much for your kind words in regards to your dining experience at radii restaurant & bar.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed the food and service and in particular from Kelly.
Your feedback will be passed onto the team and we hope we can welcome you back at radii restaurant & bar in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Waas
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 208 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Stayed at the Park Hyatt and had dinner here.
The food quality is always good and the prices are not cheap but it's not too bad.
Usually the service is good but this time it wasn't, I was waiting for 10 minutes before someone came bye to check on my empty drink. This is not the norm here.
This is a good restaurant!
Highly recommended!!!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 489olam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa A, Manager at Radii Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 489olam,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your visit in radii restaurant & bar.

It was really nice to read that you enjoyed your food and your overall experience in the restaurant.
Your comment regarding to the service is much appreciated too and you can be sure I share it with the service team.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope we can welcome you back at radii restaurant & bar in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Waas
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

This was a last minute booking, as our original plan did not quite work. Been to Radii before, so thought this was a safe/sure bet for a nice family dinner.
Booking process was efficient, but that's where the good story ends.
Food is OK, but does not excite. If you after fine dining, there are much better options nearby.
Problem with this place is not food, it is the service, or rather lack of such. One would expect that a restaurant that co-locates with a 5 star hotel provides perfect dining experience. Our "highlights" included:
+ being billed/charged for something we did not order, and also on the same bill
+ being billed for something we ordered that was never served
+ empty/dirty dishes from the entree sitting on the table throughout the night
+ having to remind waiting staff several times about the order we placed for our daughter when we arrived, for it only to be served already after the rest of us have finished our meals
+ other minor mishaps, such as staff practically disappearing after entree was served, not being given cutlery for our main, etc. etc.
My four year old summed it up well: "they ruined our party" (my wife's birthday dinner).
Disappointing. Needless to say, would not return.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Lambeau_Leap_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa A, Manager at Radii Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lambeau_Leap_72

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent experience at radii restaurant & bar.

After reading your comments, I was most concerned to learn that you were disappointed with the service you have received during your dinner. We apologies for any inconvenience that might have caused and thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. It is only thorough constructive criticism such as yours that we are able to monitor our restaurant operation more closely.

I assure you that I will be discussing these issues with the restaurant manager and team concerned to reiterate to our staff the importance of maintaining our customer focus and a high level of service at all times.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future to convince you that we are able to provide a much better service.
Yours sincerely,

Mathias Waas
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2019

Went to the " Taste the big easy" evening as part of a string of pop-up events in Melbourne.This was hosted by Radii at the Park Hyatt for two nights.
The concept was to experience/savor the best of New Orleans cuisines and cocktails from a team of chefs from Louisiana, At $88 pp you received endless helpings of dishes, a cocktail on arrival and valet parking, which we thought was a great value.
Making our way to our table, you suddenly become part of the action as you walk past the open plan kitchen.
The food was presented at an array of stations - Seafood/Gumbo/Pork Bites/Southern Fried Chicken just to name a few. All were tasteful and delicious.
There was a Dixie -style jazz band that entertained us all evening.
We did love this event and hope more will be available in the future. Having this evening at the Radii made the night even more special with it's opulent interior in shades of gold.
My only disappointment was that not one of the culinary team roamed around to talk up their home state and some food items advertised po'boys and jumbalaya were not provided.
Apart from this minor issue we had a great night

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank julesten2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa A, Public Relations Manager at Radii Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2019

Dear julesten2016,

Thank you very much for your review in regards to your last visit at radii restaurant & bar.

It was pleasing to read that you loved this event and the overall concept. It is always rewarding to learn that the hard work the team has put into the events has paid off and is appreciated by our guests.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to radii restaurant & bar in the near future.

Best personal regards
Mathias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2019

This place was relatively deserted when I ate here. I ate here for both dinner and breakfast. I had an okay steak for dinner and decent glass of wine. Service was attentive throughout the meal and professional.

For breakfast, I had a made-to-order omelette, which was quite good. I also took advantage of the breakfast buffet. While the spread was relatively small, it was okay for quality. I've seen way better buffets.

Overall, there was nothing to complain about for my dining experience here, but it feels as if this restaurant is missing the "wow factor."

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fzedlach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa A, Public Relations Manager at Radii Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2019

Dear Fzadlach,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to you dinner and breakfast experience at radii restaurant & bar.

While I can see you enjoyed your experience I have noted that we were not able to exceed your expectations.

I'm very please to let you know that both the restaurant manager and head chef recently started their new positions and we will definitely see improvements with new and fresh ideas moving forward.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mathias Waas
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Radii Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Radii Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing