We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MoVida Moment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movida Bar De Tapas

Movida Bar De Tapas
Ranked #16 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
MacMasters Beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A MoVida Moment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I was in Melbourne with three mates visiting a mutual friend. Straight off the plane, the four of us had been to an early lunch at the The Last Jar Hotel, so by about 6.30 or 7.00pm, we were wandering the streets of City, taking in the vibe, and feeling peckish.
MoVida caught our eye as we passed, and not really expecting to get a place, stuck our heads in to ask, and were lucky enough to get straight onto a table.
What followed was a delightful procession of very tasty and beautifully prepared morsels, brought in sensibly quick, but not rushed, succession. We tried about eight different Tapas, and although it's a matter of taste, for me the standouts were the anchovies and the sardines. However, all of them were delicious.
The service was friendly and helpful, and the wine list comprehensive and fun.
The place was buzzing, and by the time we left, a constant stream of would-be diners were fronting up to get a table. And no wonder.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,286
    552
    159
    66
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
203 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Book a table, it's worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were lucky enough to get in after a cancellation. Started with Tapas and went on to the Raciones to share.
We ordered the tapas by portions so that everyone could have a taste. The raciones are big enough to dish out and share. There were 5 of us and we all a good helping from each dish.
Our favourite tapas were the specials of tuna tartar and the spicy chicken escabache. The highlight of the night though was the racione of slowly braised beef cheeks in Pedro Ximenez with a cauliflower puree. Very rich but absolutely beautiful.
For the beer drinkers, try the Moritz Epidor from Spain. Very tasty and very smooth. For wine we enjoyed the KT (can't remember the full name) red wine by the glass...perfect.
Atmosphere and service are excellent.
Book it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 105FLSTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great as expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have heard about MoVida a lot and my expectations were high. We got in without booking one winter night after work and what an experience it was. The staff was great and in no time we felt like being their best known customers. But then the food arrived and it was amazing. Perfectly balanced small meals, beautiful presentation, variety of sizes to choose from. The slow cooked beef cheeks dish was rich in flavour and just melting in the mouth. Perfect winter dish. And the prices were reasonable too. We left totally satisfied with a determination that we have to come back again and try more from that great list of tapas and small meals.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Milena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Didn't know what to expect, but was totally surprised how delicious the food was. I didn't think we would be satisfied with tapas food, but it was amazing. The staff were absolutely fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Amazing food, great service as always. You need to get a booking way in advance, but the wait is well justified. Definitely try the Air Cured Wagyu with Truffle Foam

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movida Bar De Tapas also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Movida Bar De Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing