We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but be prepared to wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MoVida

MoVida
Ranked #15 of 3,643 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food but be prepared to wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Heard good reviews about this place from friends and so we decided to pay it a visit during our visit to Melbourne.

We arrived there at 5.45pm and were told that a table would only be ready for us in about 45 minutes. However they will take your name and and give you a call once the table is ready so it's not a biggie to us.

Food was of a high quality, we especially loved the spiced pork tenderloin and my partner described it as the best pork she's every had. Being located on Hosier Lane, you're treated to a view of amazing graffiti outside the window while you dine.

Overall a place with good food but however be prepared to wait if you've not made a reservation in advance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cloud2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,102
    491
    135
    59
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tapas all the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

You will have to queue but it is worth it - staff are great and will point you in the right direction - great tapas

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
139 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

First time visitors so we didn't know what to expect which often makes things a little more exciting. Very difficult to get in to so we had to accept a 6:00pm dinner booking and despite the early start the place was buzzing when we arrived. Friendly staff greeted us on arrival and quickly sat us down. Noticed quite a few people sitting at the bar and pretty much all of the tables were full. Interesting menu consisting of tapas and slightly larger main meals. I love coming somewhere where you don't recognise the dishes which means you are forced to try something new. The waiter was very helpful recommending the number of dishes we would need so we took her advice and ordered 3 tapas dishes each to start and 3 larger main meals to share. Each of the dishes were a wonderful blend of flavours and textures working perfectly together. A stand out was a special of Russian salad with swimmer crab (tapas) and the braised beef cheek with cauliflower puree for main. The dishes weren't large but they needn't be as the flavours were quite rich and the smaller portions were ideal. The entire evening was enjoyable, the restaurant wasn't overly loud but had a real buzz about it which we liked. Can't fault the experience at all, the food was excellent and staff were very friendly so we highly recommend it and would definitely come back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3644jv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“One of melb's BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Have been half a dozen times to the original and twice to Movida next door. They serve different purposes, Movida original for a more for the longer experience with the full menu. Movida next door more the Spanish tapas wine bar experience with a real snacking menu. Both have their time & place. The original however is my pick, the menu wonderful taste combinations, & the wine list has a good selection of Spanish & local wines. We go as often as the opportunity arises

Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great, Great, Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We sat at the bar, the atmosphere was fantastic, service was unbelievable, staff were more than willing to offer great food and drink suggestions and the churros were to die for!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoVida also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to MoVida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing