We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MoVida

MoVida
Ranked #16 of 3,660 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
NSW
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Went here with work colleagues on a rainy day and sat at the back of the restaurant overlooking a raised courtyard on Flinders Lane which on a sunny day would be a great location. The various dishes we tried were very tasty my favourites of the 5 were the quince paste cigars and the slow braised beef cheeks, although it would be hard to single one dish out. Of course you have to finish with the churros.... The service was great and we tried to poach one of the waitresses to come to our area. Would definitely go back to try the anchovies again. Thank you staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chamboNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,128
    499
    138
    60
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best meal in Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Loved the location, the vibe, the sangria, the service and particularly the food. Of particular note, were the perfect anchovies. Whatever you think about anchovies, try one here, you will either love anchovies or love them more. I had many meals in Sydney and Melbourne, but this place was the only one I feel nailed it 100%. I look forward to going back next time I'm there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AsISeeIt37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Early evening tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Called in here after a meeting with 2 work colleagues, at about 1730. Due to our early arrival there were plenty of seats but it was absolutely packed by 1900. The staff were absolutely first class, not only attentive and helpful with food and drink choices but happy to chat and went the extra mile to ensure we were comfortable. A small but unusual range of beers was on offer and I followed this up with a delicious Rioja. We opted for shared tapas and although they were good, didn't have the wow factor for a 5 star review. That said, I will definitely call again and try a main meal, some of the offerings coming out of the kitchen did look very tempting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank xsunseekers-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“MoVida1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Wow, where do I start. Great food. That says it all really. We were guided by our waitress, and she pretty well nailed it. Just the right amount of food, with some really interesting options. Coupled with a few beers and some wine. $100 for 2, so I would also say, good value.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Supaspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stand out restaurant in Melbourne; if you like tasty food,book here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Delicious tapas for two to share. Try the anchovy and patatas bravos followed by mussels special and slow cooked lamb; top it off with pâté and brioche.. A Devine dinner? Staff were Very helpful and friendly. Book early to avoid disappointment

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joneep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoVida also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to MoVida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing