We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best meal in Australia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MoVida

MoVida
Ranked #16 of 3,835 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best meal in Australia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Loved the location, the vibe, the sangria, the service and particularly the food. Of particular note, were the perfect anchovies. Whatever you think about anchovies, try one here, you will either love anchovies or love them more. I had many meals in Sydney and Melbourne, but this place was the only one I feel nailed it 100%. I look forward to going back next time I'm there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AsISeeIt37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,235
    540
    148
    64
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Early evening tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Called in here after a meeting with 2 work colleagues, at about 1730. Due to our early arrival there were plenty of seats but it was absolutely packed by 1900. The staff were absolutely first class, not only attentive and helpful with food and drink choices but happy to chat and went the extra mile to ensure we were comfortable. A small but unusual range of beers was on offer and I followed this up with a delicious Rioja. We opted for shared tapas and although they were good, didn't have the wow factor for a 5 star review. That said, I will definitely call again and try a main meal, some of the offerings coming out of the kitchen did look very tempting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank xsunseekers-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MoVida1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Wow, where do I start. Great food. That says it all really. We were guided by our waitress, and she pretty well nailed it. Just the right amount of food, with some really interesting options. Coupled with a few beers and some wine. $100 for 2, so I would also say, good value.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Supaspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stand out restaurant in Melbourne; if you like tasty food,book here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Delicious tapas for two to share. Try the anchovy and patatas bravos followed by mussels special and slow cooked lamb; top it off with pâté and brioche.. A Devine dinner? Staff were Very helpful and friendly. Book early to avoid disappointment

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joneep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Can't beat MoVida!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very attentive staff.
Large specials board with a variety of Spanish seafood cuisine.
Undoubtedly the best Spanish restaurant i have been to in Australia.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoVida also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to MoVida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing