We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food, great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movida Bar De Tapas

Movida Bar De Tapas
Ranked #16 of 4,054 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Booked this place two months before our visit to Melbourne, was excited and the food didn't disappoint. The food was amazing, the service was great, very on the ball.

The only thing that I would change is the table. We were stuffed in the corner next to the till, and eating great food with a dusty till table with modem cables right next to your head is very off putting. Also the tables are super close together.

Having said that though, the food was superb, would go back for that, but would ensure to ask for a better table next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HTBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,290
    555
    159
    66
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor communication so no table...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We checked the restaurant out during the day and spoke to a member of staff who confirmed that there were two time slots 6:30-8:00pm and 8:30 until late. No bookings could be made.
We duly arrived at 6:30pm and we met with a different member of staff who informed us that the next available table was not until 8:30pm!! The table were be at the bar not on the restaurant floor. When I stated that this was different to the information I received earlier in the day the response was we are very busy. We left the restaurant as we didn't like the attitude of the staff member nor did we want to wait until 8:30pm food at 9:00pm?
As we walked away the couple who were behind us in the restaurant also left so business lost. Very disappointing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkPowell437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spanish Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Finally got to visit this melbourne institution and was not disappointed.
Saturday lunch and managed to get a table as the place getting very busy and soon filled up to capacity including the bar seats.Food was amazing, fresh and tasty and the specials in particular is a must.Small portions are perfect for sharing and being able to order a few dishes.Friendly service and a cheery bright atmosphere.For whatever else you must come for the food...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sensational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Have been here about 3 times and it has been consistently brilliant !!!
This time we ended up back for dinner along with lunch.
The booking process is very efficient, you are greated within seconds of walking in.
Staff are amazing, attentive, knowledgeable.
The food is superb consistently ... With amaazing specials that change all the time.
Definitely worth a visit .... And try something different .... It will be guaranteed to be amazing and wash it down with a glass of sherry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whatithink2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a suprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Surprised we got straight in to this place. Usually have to book weeks in advance. Food was amazing. Spanish tapas. Nice wine and great personal service while dinning up at the bar.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1champ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movida Bar De Tapas also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Movida Bar De Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing