We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but not as big as the hype”

Movida Bar De Tapas
Ranked #16 of 4,029 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great but not as big as the hype”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It might have changed since I went here but it wasn't as great as I thought it would be.
Dont' get me wrong, it was really nice, it just that everyone said it was so amazing, but at the end of the day it was just tapas with good ingredients.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,352
    581
    165
    71
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Had been recommended to try here and glad we did. Heard it was normally very busy at dinner time so went for a late lunch. Service was very good, as we hadn't been before they helped us with ordering. Food come out super fast and was superb! Would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trudz117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
439 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Had to come back...”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I tried this place 3 years ago based on a review I read in a travel magazine. It was good to return and remember the vibe. Fun to walk to it in a cobblestone, grafiti-walled alley... Portions of tapas are tiny - usually one bite, but yummy and fun to sample. The flan - seemingly an obvious or boring dessert choice - will surprise you with just how good it is and the generous portion. I would come back just for that. Hip and hoppin'.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank josanpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We must be in Barcelona”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The atmosphere grabs you as soon as you walk in. No wonder they're turning people away who don't have a booking. Combined with the wonderfully authentic and adventurous menu it feels like you've been transported to another part of the world. The staff are energetic, helpful and add to the experience.

The food was very good, though didn't quite meet our expectations of a restaurant so highly regarded for such a long time. We mostly left our waiter in charge of ordering and whilst there were some amazing dishes that truly wowed us and there was nothing distasteful, there were others that seemed a little pedestrian.

We're very glad we got to experience what Movida has to offer, but feel that we maybe didn't get their best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClearyStDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Did it live up to the hype?”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Food was pretty good, very creative & well executed. It's quite expensive but the price reflects the quality, if not the ambience of the venue. Service was flawless, I couldn't fault it. Atmosphere was good for our purposes (casual business lunch) but I wouldn't really say it's a special occasion sort of venue. Overall, I enjoyed it and can tick it off the list of places to eat, but I think one visit is suffice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissChristiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movida Bar De Tapas also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Movida Bar De Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing