We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must if you are in Melbourne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movida Bar De Tapas

Movida Bar De Tapas
Ranked #16 of 4,054 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A must if you are in Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Amazing food!!! The best Spanish Tapas I have EVER tasted. The Sangria is great too, very strong but is delicious.
I go to MoVida each time I am in Melbourne and it never disappoints. The staff are always friendly and the food is AMAZING, it is pricey, however it is worth it.
Highly Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoJo0182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,290
    555
    159
    66
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A bit of Melbourne Magic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We returned to MoVida after four years away from Melbourne eager to re-immerse ourselves in its delights. Melbourne restaurants being among the finest in the world, MoVida now feels more classic than cutting edge, but the food is still fabulous and the atmosphere can't be faulted. Highlights for us included the oritz anchovies and a braised rabbit special...absolutely delicious. MoVida is not a bargain by any stretch of the imagination but it is definitely worth booking ahead for.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AcademicDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent late lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is an amazing restaurant. We turned up at about 2pm on a Sunday afternoon, and the manager was able to get us a table at 2.20. I was really impressed. The place was packed, and it must have just been that our timing was good.
The food is divine, and well worth the expense. I particularly enjoyed some of the very well selected Spanish wines, and cannot recommend this place highly enough! It was perfect for us to kick back and relax into the afternoon, ordering more food and drinks as we felt like it.
The staff were great, the service was great, and you can even buy one of their cookbooks if you love the food as much as we did.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
126 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Didn't book (you probably should) for lunch and managed to get a table for two. Had a selection of Tapas a couple of drinks and a dessert to share. Everything was great and prices very reasonable $82 for two.
I would recommend this place

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davidsyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An amazing restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Everything about this restaurant was amazing. We loved it and placed it in our memory bank as one of our favs. We called in during the afternoon to make booking and were told they were completely booked out. We were deverstated. We were told if we returned around 5.30 they may be able to find us a spot around the bar. We were there at 5.15 and not long after shown to a bar table for two.
The atomosphere of Hosier Lane adds to the experience.
The restaurant has a real buzz to it and the staff were fantastic and as it was our first experience there the waiter spent quiet a bit of time going over the menu with us. We shared a few tapas and a main each. I struggle to pick my favorite but the Beef Wagu and Beef Cheek were both amazing.
We have learnt that booking is a must. Cant wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyGAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movida Bar De Tapas also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Movida Bar De Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing