We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Yum”

Movida Bar De Tapas
Ranked #17 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too Yum”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had the best table in the house...a cosy, tucked away booth, perfect for the freezing night in Melbourne.

The food was great, really clever concepts and plating - the mackerel wowed our table and the lamb neck just disappeared on our tongues. The quality of seafood was fantastic. Be wary that portions are quite small but that makes you inclined to order nearly everything on the menu, which is great to get a taste of it all.

In terms of service, we felt that they could have provided more of an explanation of how the menu was designed and meant to be eaten as it was our first time at the hyped up venue. We felt that the specials were barely memorised by the waitress and she wasn't much help in determining whether we had ordered enough (which we hadn't).

Overall a really fun and lively place with food that was clever and truly delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,348
    581
    164
    71
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Went there last monday night - because we were six we had to have chef's choice. It was like there were two chefs - the first three courses were well presented and tasty - sardines, blood sausage and Mackeral. Unfortunately the last part of the meal, beef cheeks (I think) and field mushrooms lacked in presentation and finesse. I also thought that a dessert might have been included in the chef's choice of menu but this was not to be. I have been there twice - the first time it was memorable - this time it definitely was not - there are far too many good restaurants in Melbourne for me to bother going there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koko1australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Finn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were spoiled rotten in the best possible way of course! Thought we might be in for a pretentious culinary journey but we were happily impressed course after course. Everything was delicious. You need to dive in and order, don't hold back -I don't care if you normally eat anchovies these really are something different and kick start your palette TRY THEM! The steak tartare and the beef cheeks were highlights and I'd go back for them any time if I could. The staff are busy but very attentive. Loved their sangria so much I was inspired to buy the ingredients and make it myself. It was happy times with the family. Highly recommended, expensive but worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trippin'satz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
172 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Authentic ?”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The food that is served at MoVida is absolutely delicious, of that there is no doubt.

The Question I have is .......... How authentic is Spanish Tapas in Australia?

I have eaten Tapas in Spain, alongside the locals, and apart from 2 or 3 of the usual suspects, ie patatas bravas etc. I see no similarity to the Spanish offerings at all !

In fact, the use of the word TAPAS within the Australian dining industry is so misused it is unbelievable !! ........ Indian TAPAS, Thai TAPAS, Italian TAPAS, ...... No such thing !!

Tapas, a small snack in Spanish cuisine. just large enough to cover your glass, which was their original intention.

So no matter how delectable the dishes of MoVida are, and yes I enjoyed everything I ate here,
I do wonder at their spanish originality.

Would I recommend MoVida ........... Hell yes!
Would it survive in Spain ............ Somehow, I don't think so.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best food experience in Melbourne”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is the best tapas I have ever eaten, I have spent months in Spain and Portugal on business but never had food as good as this If you are a Foodie you must visit this venue.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movida Bar De Tapas also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Movida Bar De Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing