We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous lunch.”

Movida Bar De Tapas
Ranked #17 of 4,071 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a well oiled machine. From the truly delightful staff who confirm phone bookings to the wait staff- faultless attention to detail. A great venue for lunch in a groovy graffitied Melbourne lane.
Really well constructed tapas- great textures and flavours and lovely sharing plates for the main course.
Overall a great dining experience with an extensive wine list plus plenty by the glass to choose from.

Would we take the kids? Probably not. I'm sure they would be welcome but ours would eat little more than the great olives and superb bread.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CandN07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,371
    585
    166
    71
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had this on our wish list on a recent visit to Melbourne but were not sure where to find it. Turns out we stumbled across it on the way to a show and although we had not booked they were good enough to squeeze us into what seemed like the last two seats in a bustling, busy restaurant.
The menu seemed a bit outside our comfort zone to start with but the guy behind the bar was extremely helpful and talked us through the menu and the specials with enthusiasm. Not sure if he was the owner or not, but he had a lot of passion for what was on offer and although the place was bursting with people he made us feel like he had our full attention.
The food was awesome, of all the tasting plates there was only one I didn't like.
A popular choice, and for good reason - unfortunately live in NZ, but would definitely go back!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank millsm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food and beautiful Spanish wines”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I went there recently with another couple to celebrate a special birthday. My wife is gluten intolerant and the restaurant was told beforehand of her special requirements. Did they take notice? They certainly did. When we were seated a special menu was handed to her setting out what was gluten free and what wasn't. They did not have to be asked for this. The waiters were excellent and we enjoyed a fantastic lunch with some outstanding Spanish wines. The "Albariño D Fifinane" was amazing. A great dining experience in the heart of Melbourne.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank James_Melbourne02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great value Tapas”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Superb tapas menu near the centre of the Melbourne CBD. Great selection of small and larger plates to share. Excellent wine list. Need to book ahead!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HDavidMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Austalia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No doubt about it. It was good”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a girls weekend in Melbourne. We were seated promptly. Felt the service attentive but but not engaged.
The atmosphere was good. Menu was creative and food was delicious. Excellent to share and a wide range to suit all tastes.
We felt it was great value and delicious.
A little rushed with 2 seatings per night but that is not specific to Movida.
Would recommend Movida.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank liana59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movida Bar De Tapas also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Movida Bar De Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing