We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Movida Bar De Tapas
Ranked #15 of 4,055 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I've been here and to MoVida Next Door too many times to count. My favorite place to eat in Melbourne. If you're coming from overseas, book well in advance (5+ weeks) or just turn up if you don't mind a wait. A good tip is that the kitched doesn't close during lunch and dinner, head in there about 2:30-3pm for a long slow lunch and you should get a table quickly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,321
    565
    161
    67
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food, drinks, service = excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We popped in for an early dinner before our flight home, and sat qt the bar for tapas. The staff were very knowledgeable, they knew everything on the food and wine menu, were attentive but not pushy. The place filled up very quickly and I can see why. Can't wait to go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TashaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The way tapas should be cooked”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went to Movida after hearing rave reviews and we weren't disappointed. The atmosphere was great, the food delicious (small tapas portions but the quality was wonderful) and the service fantastic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BudapestStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best Spanish in Australia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food here is an experience! I've dined at Movida several times and have never been disappointed. The service is great with knowledgeable wait staff who really make you feel welcome. The atmosphere in the restaurant is great as it's always full and buzzing on a Saturday night (be sure to book for a Saturday well in advance).
The food is obviously the best part with tapas and raciones (a portion large enough for two to share). The flavours are just sensational and there is so much variety. Make sure you try the Anchoa (tapa) and Cecina (Racione), these are signature dishes and once you try them you will know why. Amazing flavour! Definitely one of my favourite restaurants in Melbourne.

I have also tried Movida Next Door and Movida Aqui and again the food does not disappoint, Original Movida on Hosier Lane has the best atmosphere in my opinion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetsilver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
“Great food, great service, great experiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Comfortable setting, relaxed atmosphere and simply amazing tapas. A must stop when in melbourne!! Always fantasic

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LXJ-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movida Bar De Tapas also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Movida Bar De Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing