We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I eat out a fair bit, but this restaraunt started it all for me.”

Movida Bar De Tapas
Ranked #15 of 4,059 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: When we opened the doors to MoVida in Hosier lane, Melbourne in 2003 no one knew what to expect. Here was this little bar on a graffiti covered cobbled lane near the cathedral serving Spanish tapas and shared plates in a down lit room playing funky tunes. It's the kind of place you can come in for a beer and a jamon croquetta at the bar and then move across to a table and share a plate of slow braised lamb, some patatas a lo pobre and down some seriously good Spanish red wine.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I eat out a fair bit, but this restaraunt started it all for me.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I shouted (paid for) my sister here as a special treat once before seeing Placido Domingo in concert . We both have the food gene in us. We were wowed when we first went it. It felt like something you would expect to walk into on Barcelona. Instant energy when you walk in yet warm and inviting. Small tables, warm wooden decor and nick knacks on the wall, waiters ducking adeptly between tables, carrying morsels of pure flavour. You can tell f love this place so does my sister, Jenny. This place really makes me love my home town of Melbourne. I really don't want you to go...how will I get a table?

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PLinMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,321
    566
    161
    67
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great service, tiny portions.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

First visit to MoVida, was impressed by the fast and efficient service by our waiter who explained the menu well.
Tried four of the smaller plates including summer soup (could easily be mistaken for a tablespoon of salad dressing). Other three were better and quite imaginative, tiny portions nonetheless.
We then shared the seafood pasta which was a standout, though overpriced at $25 for an entree portion.
Would recommend MoVida for the overall experience, and photo opportunities in the funky lane way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nestl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a lovely waiter who looked really after us. This was my first visit to Movida and I was impressed. Not so much with the decor, but everything else was spot on. Would definitely visit again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank katiekate121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
Level Contributor
135 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“An experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Very tasty food that is presented beautifully. Thankfully my son ordered and explained the dishes otherwise we would have been lost! This is because it is one of his favourite restaurants in Melb. Wait staff were knowledgable about winw and I had an awesome Spanish rose that slid down my throat way too quickly and complimented each dish at our table. Bit of a shame to have to leave by 8 as dinner is in two sittings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soobooAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fantastic food: imaginative and creative with excellent robust flavours and high quality ingredients. Excellent wine to accompany. We sat at the bar and had one of the best meals of our holiday - actually one of our best meals ever.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fosciandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movida Bar De Tapas also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Movida Bar De Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing