We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure!”
Review of Money Order Office MOO - CLOSED

Money Order Office MOO
Price range: $0 - $94
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hidden down a non-descript laneway, is this great little place. Walking down the derolict-looking concrete stairway, you're welcomed into a great subterranean room. Parquetry floors, walls covered in wine racks, solid tables (the larger ones divided by magnums of MOET!), discrete alcoves. Very welcoming. The entire menu is suppose to be shared - but there were probably a few dishes you could have by yourself. We were a group of 6 and started with the chartcuterie platter - which was delicious. The terrine (not sure what it was) was a star! The olives were stuffed with cheese, covered in breadcrumbs & deep-fried - not a favourite, but not bad. The meatballs were great, the char-grilled prawns were too hard to peel, but came with a few delicious dipping sauces. The nasi pear salad was a winner - with crunchy walnuts. The waitress was a "quiet talker" - even in the relatively empty restaurant, we could barely hear her - she didn't seem too sure what was in each dish. Overall a great place and will definitely be back. I also hear (but haven't been) they have a small band set up on Friday nights. L

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyenot2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Down under diner”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This place is apparently better known for its bar of an evening.
I visited this place with colleagues (their shout) and it turned out we were the only people there right up until we left.
The waitress was lovely but appeared quite nervous and inexperienced. She forgot to pour one guests wine.
The food was actually very good. The entire menu consists of sharing plates ad we polished off everything.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mich279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

High prices pared with underwhelming food and capped off with rude staff. I was so disappointed and will not be returning when I can go to places like Movida, Italy 1, Gil's Diner and Huxtable. Save your money and visit one of Melbourne's more worthwhile establishments.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Creative atmospheric”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Service & food very good. Loved the the sardines & the slow cooked duck. Diverse wine list, well chosen including older wines. Price & range to suit most needs

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 nights in a row means I like it.”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled on this place while traveling on my own. Was intimidated at first but definately intreagued by the mysterious stairwell that lead off the dark alley to what I was told was the restaurant.

Inside the Adams Family like automatic giant gate-door I was really surprised to find a homely feeling joint; exactly what I was looking for.

I was again surprised to see the menu full of interesting options, at great prices. Even more surprised when the food came out. Portions were right, and clearly someone spent time thinking about how to make the food beautiful in terms of taste and presentation.

I had a great wine to accompany the meal, and my usual lonely travel dinner was no where to be seen, only a really great experience.

Thanks OOM.

Looking forward to my next trip to Melboune.



    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonelybusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Money Order Office MOO also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing