We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Japanese Fare in Southgate Center”

Miyako Japanese Cuisine & Teppanyaki
Reserve with
Miyako Japanese Cuisine & Teppanyaki is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,345 of 4,053 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southbank
Description: MIYAKO JAPANESE CUISINE has courteously served many gourmet Japanese dishes by the Yarra Riverside since opening in 1997, located at the upper level of Southgate Precinct for your premium dining experience. Over the past years we have received much praise and support from our patrons. Our premises features a comfortable River View dining area for 90 diners including an open balcony section, and another separate Teppanyaki zone with two Teppanyaki tables accommodating 40 "Yaki Foodies". Our restaurant also features two VIP Tatami Rooms each seating 10 guests for a true Japanese style dining experience. Whether it is a private celebration party or a corporate event, Miyako can certainly accomodate with a tailored menu and would strive to bring you a memorable night. Being one of its kind in Melbourne, our exciting menu is certain to bring our customers a whole new level of experience in Japanese Cuisine, serving our favourite Japanese dishes with French influence.P> MIYAKO JAPANESE CUISINE is fully licensed and carries an interesting range of wines and Japanese Sake.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
600 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Decent Japanese Fare in Southgate Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Miyako serves sushi, teppan grill and likely some other things we didn't pay attention to. We were surprised that they weren't seating people on the patio, since it was a pretty late spring day, but they accommodated us on the patio anyway. Service was average; food better than service. Maybe it was the extra few steps out the door, or maybe it was the large corporate group at the yeppanyaki grills that had everyone's attention.

It would be worth a second try, just to see if our experience was not the norm.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2travl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    57
    29
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Caves Beach,Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Not for Teppanyaki”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very disappointing Teppanyaki. We had been to this restaurant a few years ago with good results.
Maybe it has changed hands, but this time was very different with poor results. Produce and flavour ordinary. Will Not return

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“First time Tepinyaki. Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We were wandering around Southgate, looking for something unique whilst in holidays. Miyako won, too floor restaurant but we took a shot and loved it. Never had this style of food before, sat in front of the Chef, watching as he prepared food for others.
Was amazing to watch the preparation, flash backs of Police Academy movies came to me as Chef was clanging and banging the utensils, very talented.
We picked the Meat Trio combination which gave us value for money with selection of each style. Each dish was presented and tasted beautiful! Was certainly worth taking the plunge and well recommended to try it out. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we will be back before we head back home.

Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Loved our Bento Box Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Because some places are shut on Sunday we were pleasantly surprised by Miyako which we chose for its excellent choices on the lunch menu. Our Bento Boxes were excellent value with more than enough to satisfy even the hungriest. We loved the amazing high quality variety that was presented with the beef and seafood bento boxes. I'm not exaggerating to say every mouthful was a delight. In addition we were made to feel very welcome by the waitress who attended our table and also the lady at the counter. Loved the river view. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank penanghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have been here with friends on 4 occasions over the last 18 months & have been impressed each time, service is friendly, polite and not "in your face", food is served promptly & professionally and everyone has complimented their meals, some friends going back again and again just like me. The lunch Bento is superb, the miso soup is perfect and the views (in the window or outdoor area) are wonderful, definitely worth the visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyako Japanese Cuisine & Teppanyaki also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Miyako Japanese Cuisine & Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing