We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three Times Five”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Masani

Masani
Ranked #1,373 of 4,058 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Three Times Five”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

After the cinema in Carlton, we have dropped into Masani's around the corner - well, two corners - three times in the last year or so and I'm delighted to say that all three were five-star experiences, as I'm sure will those still to come! This is Melbourne traditional (and yet very imaginative) Italian cuisine at its very best. Every dish we have tried has been impeccably prepared and served, all have been delicious. Add an excellent wine list, the classical and calm ambience and impeccable but friendly service in this gorgeous family restaurant and you have a memorable night out. If you've never been before, we strongly recommend you try it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    9
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An unforgetable dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and our two daughters had the opportunity to have dinner at Masani and it was one of the best meal we had during our trip to Autralia. The restaurant is runned by Kara, the somelier, and her dad, Richard, which is the chef, and the passion for good food and to please others is felt all the time. The service is outstanding, as well as the food. The wine was chosen with the help of Kara and it was excellent and the food was perfect.as well. We would like to thank for all the attention and effort to make our dinner something not to be forgotten. Congratation for Kara, her dad and all the team. This experinece made our staying in Melbourne even better!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeloisaRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The best of the best in Melbourne's Italian part of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

On the way to our accommodations we happened to walk by this place, locaated on Drummond Street and off the beatenpath of Lygon street. The menu sounded interesting. Sure enough we checked it out on our first night in the city. It turned out to be the best meal we had on our month long trip through Australia. We had the duck - delicious! Service has been perfect! Bravissimo!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reinhold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really feels like Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Delicious food, based on the season, very much a feeling of Carlton about it, excellent relaxed service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BelleAustralia_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, fabulous service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

There is a reason this place has been here for 30 years. Its fantastic. Great food. Eggplant parmigiana is outstanding and it's a side... The pasta is to die for. Service is outstanding. We will be back many times.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masani also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Masani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing