We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tastie and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lanna Thai - CLOSED

Lanna Thai
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tastie and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our plane was late we arrived at Lanna Thai close to 10 pm on a Thursday night, not a person in the place. We loved everything we ate. The food came out quickly (probably cause they wanted to go home). Absolutely will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Curry for the cold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Best solution to a cold night is Thai, we ate so much and it was all excellent. For starters I would suggest the satays and fish cakes . Curry was amazing, The Fried Rice was good, the Phad Thai was awesome. Nice atmosphere, Service was pretty good not pushy and not in your face, comes around when you need water etc and to take away the aftermath.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J12345Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food, good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We were a small group of 3 and the only patrons to begin with at 8pm on a Sunday night, however this restaurant is one to put on your list! Great Thai food, reasonably priced, with good service. It would be hard to find better around the Chinatown end of Melbourne. We'll return, and soon...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chemil407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good solid food for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked a table for 7:00pm on a Saturday evening in early February to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We arrived on time and were duly seated at our table.

The restaurant itself was not too busy, and had a pleasant yet subdued atmosphere. It was decorated as if from the early 80’s with Thai inspired designs. Whilst it did look dated, it was well maintained, and the cutlery looked like antique silverware.

The menu was decent and we ordered an entrée of chicken satay, and for mains a Pad Thai and Pad See Eew. The Pad See Eew was the dish that presented the most flavour, although it did not have the spice. The entrée and Pad Thai were also both quite tasty. The portions for the mains were very decent and we left quite full! You would not leave hungry from this place…

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Redback_Venom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coomera, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went there on Saturday 16/2/13 for my daughter's 18th. Changed our booking from 8 to 9 at last minute with no problem. Very busy but service excellent. Our waiter was attentive, made suggestions, and was an absolute pleasure. BYO made the meal very affordable. The soft-shell crab was to die for.Will definately go again soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Charmaine218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanna Thai also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing