We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid food for a good price”
Review of Lanna Thai - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lanna Thai
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Good solid food for a good price”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked a table for 7:00pm on a Saturday evening in early February to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We arrived on time and were duly seated at our table.

The restaurant itself was not too busy, and had a pleasant yet subdued atmosphere. It was decorated as if from the early 80’s with Thai inspired designs. Whilst it did look dated, it was well maintained, and the cutlery looked like antique silverware.

The menu was decent and we ordered an entrée of chicken satay, and for mains a Pad Thai and Pad See Eew. The Pad See Eew was the dish that presented the most flavour, although it did not have the spice. The entrée and Pad Thai were also both quite tasty. The portions for the mains were very decent and we left quite full! You would not leave hungry from this place…

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Redback_Venom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coomera, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went there on Saturday 16/2/13 for my daughter's 18th. Changed our booking from 8 to 9 at last minute with no problem. Very busy but service excellent. Our waiter was attentive, made suggestions, and was an absolute pleasure. BYO made the meal very affordable. The soft-shell crab was to die for.Will definately go again soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Charmaine218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,283 reviews
592 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
“good Thai, friendly service”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I walk past this place a lot and it never seems busy but have now eaten twice at Lanna Thai, and both have been good Thai meals and experiences. Plenty of choice including vegetarian. Meal will be cooked to your chilli compatability and is as described. Good overall value with efficient service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum - still nice”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

used to eat here when we worked in Melbourne. The food is still yummy. they catered well with our son - the waiter was a character. Only one slightly negative comment is that they use frozen veges including peas in their fried rice. I think they have always done this but it lets them down.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't judge until you try!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Definitely worth a go - meals are great, in price and taste - tried the curry puffs, chicken satays, spring rolls and Green Chicken curry - all fantastic!! service was awesome - polite and friendly, ambience - good, a little strange to see paper over the top of nice white table cloths but overall very good. Would go back again anytime!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank galahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanna Thai also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing