We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting Better”
Review of La Luna Bistro

La Luna Bistro
Ranked #88 of 4,065 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Getting Better”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten at this Restraurant may times and over many years, it has always been good with some experiences being a bit better than others. The one thing that has always been of the highest standard is the food, and that is exactly why we keep coming back. On this visit we both had the cheese soufflé (never one to disappoint) I then had the pork with crackle and my partner had the slow cooked beef rib. Both meals fantastic. Desserts were also beautiful as usual. The Restraurant was very busy on this Saturday night but the service was very good, the staff were friendly and efficient. The not so cheap bottle of wine we ordered was decanted as it should be and we were never left looking for the staff for assistance, they were just there when we needed them. All in all a great experience and we felt that this place is getting better each time we visit. We will definitely return again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank heybails_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    58
    26
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narooma, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely lunch, shared the lamb filo yum, then the gnocchi which was the best by far that I have eaten, steak cooked to perfection and sides of potatoes and beet root. Finished with the dessert mezze plate and coffee. Excellent meal and well worth the money, we will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LynDrewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We enjoyed a very good meal at La Luna. The decor was a little quirky and the packaged salt on the table was interesting.

The service was very attentive and friendly, but I do wonder why many establishments do not leave the wine bottle at the table so that the customers can serve themselves rather than waiting for their dry glass to be replenished by busy waiters!

The menu was interesting, although we thought there was a little too much emphasis on steaks, and the quality of the food was excellent. A very pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydneysider48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza
1 review
“Overpriced and underperformed”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our first visit with friends from interstate plus locals who had been before. My wife and I shared the garlic prawns which were fine but far from the best I have had. My wife had the hangar steak which was tough and rubbery and the pepper crust so strong that it was inedible. This message was conveyed to the wait staff. Only when everyone had finished their meal some 20 or so minutes later and the plates were being cleared and it was seen that my wife had not eaten her meal, was an alternative offered. Obviously a bit late at that stage and she declined. However they were still prepared to charge for this totally unacceptable product. One of our friends from Adelaide had the same dish and although he ate it, agreed that it was tough and rubbery. I had the fish of the day (blue eye). Mine was overcooked and dry and contained numerous bones and I have eaten better from the local pub at less than half the price. Others at the table said their meals were okay but certainly my wife and I will not be revisiting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toukley, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“YUMMMM”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Best food I have ever tasted, the steak just melted in your mouth whilst the prawns where so fresh you would have thought they caught them in the kitchen.
This restaurant is well worth the visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Bistro also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
North Fitzroy, Yarra
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to La Luna Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing