We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Koko Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #272 of 4,065 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southbank
Description: Experience the serene ambience created by internationally renowned designer Tony Chi midst the tranquil surrounds of a Japanese water garden. Koko offers authentic teppanyaki and à la carte menus for guests to choose from, and is renowned for it's impeccable sushi and sashimi, delicately prepared by our chefs. Koko's also features an impressive sake bar, offering the city's best range of aged and exclusive sake from Australia and Japan.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My first experience with tepanyaki (or however you write this). Food was delicious, service was fantastic. allthough it is kind of expensive its an experience I definitely would try again!

Thanks!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H_J_Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    56
    36
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The BEST!!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had the best chef (Kevin) and a great time! The food is amazing and I Highly recommend this!! You must go all out and get the full set menu

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Australian_Skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent night out”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Thank you to Yuji and Tom our chef for a wonderful dinner. We had a lovely tepanyaki set Tsuki and a beautiful bottle of Yabi Lake wine which is hard to fine. Tom was great and cut up some of the food small for our 3 yr old which was lovely and the even boughtbout extra ice cream for our son. The food quality is excellent and is cooked perfectly. Thamks Koko we will return Guterres Family

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lionel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samos, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is one of Australias finest Tapanaki restaurants. The 2 main chefs, Jimmy and Kevin (brothers) have been there since it opened in mid ninties as my husband has been. It is always superb and they have many long standing ,loyal customers, as we are. The ambience the food quality...in particular the patagonian tooth fish (one of the few places in Aus you can get it) is outstanding. The tapanaki prawns...don't forget the heads served later! are yum. The vegetables are the best quality and the service superb. Can't wait to get back there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good but not memorable”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went to Koko on a Friday night with friends. We had a 3 course banquet menu for $89 pp without drinks....We had 3 options to chose from for each course which was OK although with 4 of us it meant we could get everything and 2 of the best from each course - that was good. overall we found that the dishes were variable with some dishes were Ok, some fine and 2 were good. The meal did not reach any dizzying heights of excellence. There was no ooohhh-arhhhh factor.
The wines were fines but in the end it turned out to be quite expensive for a non memorable meal. The service was typically Japanese...eager to please and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobCug67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koko Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Koko Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing